Melodic Thrashers ‘Shattered Sun’ Rebound with “The Evolution Of Anger” , New Music Video Released


“People are fed up and I am certainly fed up,” barks Marcos Leal, vocalist for melodic thrashers Shattered Sun. The raw, loud, unapologetic and honest front-man connects the dots on all things vexing him, from the bands near-implosion to the worldwide state of affairs. Today, the Texas-bred troop has released ‘Burn It Down,’ the first video and details behind their sophomore album, “The Evolution Of Anger,” set for release on July 21 on Victory Records.

On the track, Leal admits, “We almost burned this band into the ground internally.” Guitarist Daniel Trejo decided to leave the band in late 2015, just as the band’s demons came out to haunt them before creating The Evolution Of Anger. “Between all the things we have done over the years, things finally came to the surface. Once Daniel came back into the fold, the first song he showed me was ‘Burn it Down,’ and it is a perfect reflection of what occurred within Shattered Sun.”

The band huddled around each other with producer Mark Lewis (DevilDriver, Fallujah) in early 2017 to begin work on the album. Importing a new vibe and authority, “Mark brought a sound to the band that we didn’t think we were capable of,” says guitarist Jessie Santos. With artwork from Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Machine Head), “The Evolution Of Anger” takes you through a labyrinth of heroic guitar proficiency and mind-bending musical muscle. After their fist-pumping debut, 2015’s “Hope Within Hatred,” Shattered Sun continue to expound why they are one of metal’s most impressive bands.

Shattered Sun’s first tour in support of “The Evolution Of Anger” finds them joining the 2017 Vans Warped Tour beginning July 26 outside of St. Louis, MO, and rounding out the tour on its final date in Pomona, CA on August 6. Fall tour details will be announced soon.

The band consists of: Marcos Leal (Vocals), Daniel Trejo (Guitar), Jessie Santos (Guitar / Vocals), Robert Garza (Drums), Joseph Guajardo (Bass), Henry Garza (Keys / Vocals).

Track Listing:
1. Keep Your Eyes Shut
2. Blame
3. Declassified
4. Hollow Chains
5. Out For Justice
6. Die For Nothing
7. Burn it Down
8. Like Gasoline
9. Terminal
10. Hope Dies

“The Evolution Of Anger” pre-order packages are available now at and include an instant download of ‘Burn It Down.’

Shattered Sun on Vans Warped Tour 2017

Jul 26 – Maryland Heights, MO @ Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Jul 27 – Bonner Springs, KS @ Providence Medical Center Amphitheatre
Jul 28 – Dallas, TX @ Starplex Pavilion
Jul 29 – San Antonio, TX @ AT&T Center
Jul 30 – Houston, TX @ NRG Park

Aug 1 – Las Cruces, NM @ NMSU Intramural Field
Aug 4 – Mountain View, CA @ Shoreline Amphitheatre
Aug 5 – San Diego, CA @ Qualcomm Stadium
Aug 6 – Pomona, CA @ Pomona Fairplex

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter

Video for ‘Burn It Down’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts