Queensrÿche Frontman Todd La Torre on Working with Michael Sweet (Video Message)


Son Of Man’ from Stryper frontman Michael Sweet was released earlier this week, check it below. The track, which features a guest appearance by Todd La Torre of Queensrÿche, is taken from Sweet‘s tenth solo album, “Ten”, which will be released on October 11 via Rat Pak Records in North America and Frontiers Music in Europe.

La Torre commented on working with Sweet on the track:

“Special thanks to my good friend Michael Sweet for having me be a part of his new album, Ten. It’s no secret that I am an atheist and he is a Christian, and it’s worth noting that this is a wonderful example of how people can do great things together when there is acceptance and respect as human beings first despite differing world views.

It was a GREAT time working with Michael, and can’t forget the spectacular playing from John O’Boyle on bass, Will Hunt on drums, and Andy James shredding the solos! Enjoy.”

La Torre has followed this up with a video message filmed backstage at a recent Stryper show.


“Ten” features an all-star guest lineup that includes Jeff Loomis of Arch EnemyTodd La Torre of QueensrycheAndy JamesTracii Guns of L.A. GunsRich Ward of FozzyJoel Hoekstra of WhitesnakeGus G. of FirewindHowie SimonEthan BroshMarzi Montazeri of ExhorderWill Hunt of Evanescence , John O’BoyleMike Kerr and Ian Raposa of Firstbourne and more.

On the subject of guest musicians, Michael comments: “There is a different player appearing on every song. It started out where I was just going to have a couple of guest appearances on it, then I decided that it would be really interesting to bring in different players for every song. I started putting names out there and reaching out to people, and they started agreeing to do it. And then I had guys reaching out to me.”

“Ten” is available for pre-order via the Rat Pak Records web site in various bundle configurations, including translucent green and black splatter vinyl, cassette and hand-autographed CD packages. The album also has two bonus tracks that appear on all configurations.

Produced by Michael Sweet“Ten” was recorded and mixed by Danny Bernini at the Spirithouse Recording Studio in North Hampton and was mastered by Alex Saltz.

Regarding the musical direction of the album, Michael states: “I’m very excited about this release. There are old-school, straight-ahead metal ideas in the vein of Judas Priest and Iron Maiden — all the stuff I love listening to!”

As for the “Ten” album title, Sweet recently stated: “It’s called ‘Ten’ cause it’s my tenth album, and because there is a title track on there about the Ten Commandments — a really powerful song. There’s real heavy stuff. It starts kind of smacking you in the face and it ends kicking you in the gut.”

Track listing:

01. Better Part Of Me (featuring Jeff Loomis of Arch Enemy)
02. Lay It Down (featuring Marzi Montazeri)
03. Forget, Forgive (featuring Howie Simon)
04. Now Or Never (featuring Gus G of Firewind)
05. Ten (featuring Rich Ward of Fozzy)
06. Shine (featuring Ethan Brosh)
07. Let It Be Love
08. Never Alone (featuring Joel Hoekstra of Whitesnake)
09. When Love Is Hated (featuring Joel Hoekstra of Whitesnake)
10. Ricochet (featuring Tracii Guns of L.A. Guns)

Bonus tracks:

11. With You Till The End (featuring Mike Kerr and Ian Raposa from Firstbourne
12. Son Of Man (featuring Todd La Torre of Queensryche and Andy James)


Lyric video for ‘Son of Man’



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts