Flying Colors (Feat. Neal Morse, Mike Portnoy) Releases Music Video for ‘The Loss Inside, New Album “Third Degree” Due In October


A music video for the song ‘The Loss Inside’ from Flying Colors can be seen below. The track is taken from the band’s upcoming album, “Third Degree”, which will be released on October 4 via Music Theories Recordings.

Singer Casey McPherson states about the song: “We all go through loss, and the grieving process often comes in waves. I love how musically and lyrically this song represents that process for me.”

In chemistry, when certain galvanizing elements come together, they become quite explosive. In music, when certain galvanizing artists come together, they become Flying Colors. In fact, whenever the five gentlemen who encompass Flying Colors — guitarist Steve Morse(Deep Purple, Dixie Dregs, ex-Kansas), Portnoy (The Winery Dogs, ex-Dream Theater, Transatlantic), keyboardist/vocalist Neal Morse (Transatlantic, ex-Spock’s Beard, and a prolific solo artist in his own right), bassist Dave LaRue (Dixie Dregs, ex-Joe Satriani), and powerhouse vocalist and songwriter Casey McPherson (Alpha RevThe Sea Within) — are able to conjoin their collective talents, the result is a sweet sonic bouillabaisse that reflects where their inherent mastery of melody intersects with top-shelf progressive musicianship.

And now, Flying Colors soar to even loftier heights with “Third Degree”, their third studio album in a decade. “Third Degree” builds upon the genre-bending momentum of 2012’s self-titled “Flying Colors’ and the aural-template ascension of 2014’s “Second Nature”. From the skittery psychedelic/classical turnaround of the lead single ‘More’ to the Beach Boys-meet-ASIA vibe of ‘Love Letter” to the deep emotionality of the album-ending, prog-leaning epic ‘Crawl’, the nine tracks that comprise “Third Degree” signify just how much Flying Colors is willing to explore new frontiers.

“There’s a lot of ear candy sprinkled throughout every song,” observes Portnoy, “and each one takes you on a little journey. As albums go, ‘Third Degree’ is a complete piece that I don’t think ever overstays its welcome. I think it’s an enjoyable ride from start to finish.”

It continues to build upon the deep-rooted musical connection the members of Flying Colors established on their first two boundary-stretching albums.

“There’s a real special chemistry between the five of us,” Portnoy confirms. “We keep getting better and better as we get more comfortable and more familiar with each other, and the music itself keeps getting more and more mature.” Adds Steve Morse: “This one, dare I say it, explores new ground for the band. One of my favorites, ‘Geronimo’, has an upbeat, jazzy, heavy, melodic feel all at once. We just do what makes us smile and sounds good, instead of wondering how critics or program directors will like it. It makes for the best music!”

Casey McPherson concurs with his fellow bandmates by noting: “What ‘Third Degree’ really proves to me is that we have our own sound. There are no egos in this band, and we all want the best parts to come out, which is such a joy for me to participate in. I think that really allows people’s uniqueness to show through.”

The first sessions for the record took place at Steve Morse‘s studio in Florida in December 2016, wherein seven songs were written. From there, the band members had to scatter back to their other personal and professional obligations, eventually reconvening two full years later in December 2018, when three more tracks were added to the overall “Third Degree” mix. (The tenth track, ‘Waiting For The Sun, will be made available in forthcoming special editions.)

As a songwriter, McPherson is never afraid to confront his feelings head-on, whether it’s the nostalgic bent of ‘Last Train Home’ or the raw, relatable universality of ‘You Are Not Alone’.

Another progression has been the band’s use of technology to provide industry-leading sound. “Third Degree” was engineered with the award-winning Harmonic Phrase Analysis and Restoration (HPAR) technology. Developed by the band’s resident mad scientist Bill Evans, he created HPAR based on the group’s performance styles — resulting in unprecedented fidelity. Flying Colors regular producer Rich Mouser (The Neal Morse Band, Transatlantic) then crafted a sumptuous mix in his inimitable style.

Track listing:

01. The Loss Inside
02. More
03. Cadence
04. Guardian
05. Last Train Home
06. Geronimo
07. You Are Not Alone
08. Love Letter
09. Crawl

Deluxe CD bonus disc

01. Waiting For The Sun (unreleased bonus studio track)
02. Geronimo (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
03. You Are Not Alone (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
04. Love Letter (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
05. Last Train Home (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)
06. Crawl (alternate instrumental arrangement & mix)

Video for ‘The Loss Inside’

Video for ‘Love Letter’

Video for ‘You Are Not Alone’

Video for ‘More’


Upcoming Shows
Oct 7th – New York City, NY – Sony Hall
Oct 11th – Glenside, PA – Keswick Theater
Oct 17th – St Charles, IL – Arcada Theater

Dec 11th – Pratteln, Switzerland – Z7
Dec 12th – Cologne, Germany – Essigfabrik
Dec 13th – Tilburg, Netherlands – 013
Dec 14th – London, England – Shepherd’s Bush Empire

Weblinks: Facebook / Website / Twitter / Spotify

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts