Pop Punk/Rock Band ‘Broadside’ Reveal New Album Details, ‘Puzzle Pieces’ Video and Digital Single Released


The wait is over! Broadside will be releasing their second studio album, “Paradise,” returning to the music scene with a larger than life eagerness to inspire. Today, the band releases the first video and single, ‘Puzzle Pieces,’ (below) with longtime supporter Alternative Press, who nominated Broadside as ‘Best Underground Band’ for this year’s AP Music Awards. “Paradise” will be available on vinyl, CD and digitally on June 16. Starting tonight, audiences will be treated to new cuts from “Paradise” as Broadside hit the road with Real Friends, Have Mercy, Tiny Moving Parts and Nothing, Nowhere.

“We have been picking ourselves apart to really find the focus of what people will think when they hear the name Broadside with this new record,” confides front-man Ollie Baxxter. On ‘Puzzle Pieces,’ he continues, “As I’m getting older and the band progresses, we’re being put into situations where we have the opportunity to reach a wider audience. Do we take advantage of those opportunities or stay true to who we are and express our ideals? Eventually you must ask yourself, at what cost does this come? Do I edit myself or do I speak the harsh reality of the creative industry? Puzzle pieces – it takes one piece to either start or finish an entire piece of art.”

Since the release of 2015’s “Old Bones,” their Victory Records debut, Baxxter adds, “We bypassed our goals, made an explicit vision for our future, and are counting down the days until Paradise is released. We are locking in a sound and an image to represent our music, our absolutely loving fans, and the future audience of Broadside .”

By the summer of 2016, Broadside circled the US multiple times with the likes of State Champs, Roam, and Handguns to name a few, and the demand for their punk-rooted pop anthems escalated as they were constantly ushered to larger stages during that summers’ Vans Warped Tour.

Now calling Los Angeles home, the former Virginia natives teamed up once again with New Found Glory and All Time Low producer Kyle Black in January 2017 to lay down the groundwork for Paradise. “You know what, Kyle Black is a wildman who knows what he is doing, and we were lucky to be able to record another record with him,” admits Baxxter. Immediately following the Paradise sessions, Broadside packed their gear and headed to the United Kingdom for an inaugural tour supporting With Confidence, bowling over new fans and taking a well-deserved seat at the table of their peers.

Named ‘Musician Of The Month’ by Alternative Press in March 2017, guitarist Dorian Cooke’s resilient vocals take the lead on the soulful hymn ‘Laps Around A Picture Frame,’ while ‘Tunnel Vision’ will quickly land as live favorite with its skyscraping vocals. And Paradise doesn’t just have storming tracks, the lofty ‘Who Cares’ beams with the bands inner personalities of turning a bad situation into quick-witted humor, while the balance between Baxxter and Cooke’s vocals on ‘Summer Stained’ is damn near perfect. Broadside expand their sound into unheard punk turf incorporating trumpet on the first single ‘Puzzle Pieces,’ and the Morrissey-channeled, ukulele driven, ‘I Love You, I Love You. It’s Disgusting.’ “This record is the sound we have been trying to achieve our whole career, we aren’t afraid to try new things and that is apparent with Paradise,” declares guitarist Niles Gregory.

Cast your vote now for Broadside as ‘Best Underground Band’ at Alternative Press and watch the awards on July 17, 2017. And stay tuned as more summer and fall tour dates will be announced soon.

Upcoming Shows:
Apr 27 20 Monroe Live, Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 28 St. Andrew’s Hall Negaunee, MI
Apr 29 The Agora Theater Cleveland, OH
Apr 30 Bogart’s Cincinnati, OH
May 02 Delmar Hall Saint Louis, MO
May 03 Aftershock Live Merriam, KS
May 04 Summit Music Hall Denver, CO
May 05 The Complex – The Grand Salt Lake City, UT
May 07 El Corazon Seattle, WA
May 09 Wonder Ballroom Portland, OR
May 11 Ace of Spades Sacramento, CA
May 12 The Regent Theater Los Angeles, CA
May 13 SOMA San Diego, CA
May 14 House of Blues Anaheim, CA
May 15 Nile Theater Mesa, AZ
May 17 The Door Dallas, TX
May 18 The Mohawk Austin, TX
May 19 White Oak’s Music Hall Houston, TX
May 21 Zydeco Birmingham, AL
May 22 Rocketown Nashville, TN
May 23 The Masquerade – Heaven Atlanta, GA
May 24 Beacham Theater Orlando, FL
May 25 The Orpheum Tampa, FL
May 26 Kelsey Theater Lake Park, FL
May 27 The Underground – Charlotte Charlotte, NC
May 28 The Broadberry Richmond, VA
May 30 Baltimore Soundstage Baltimore, MD
May 31 Stone Pony Asbury Park, NJ
Jun 01 Theatre of Living Arts Philadelphia, PA
Jun 02 Irving Plaza New York, NY
Jun 03 Paradise Rock Club Boston, MA
Jun 04 Waiting Room Buffalo, NY
Jun 06 The Phoenix Concert Theatre Toronto, Canada
Jun 07 Rex theater Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 08 Deluxe @ Old National Centre Indianapolis, IN
Jun 09 Concord Music Hall Chicago, IL

Pre-orders for Paradise are available now, and include a variety of items such as Paradise on CD and vinyl, multiple t-shirt designs, sunglasses, beach towels and posters. All pre-orders will include an ‘instant download of “Puzzle Pieces.’

“Paradise” Track Listing:
1. Hidden Colors
2. Paradise
3. Lose Your Way
4. Disconnect
5. Laps Around A Picture Frame
6. Who Cares
7. Tunnel Vision
8. Summer Stained
9. Miss Imperius
10. Puzzle Pieces
11. I Love You. I Love You. It’s Disgusting

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

Video below: ‘Puzzle Pieces’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts