‘Korn’ Announce “The Serenity Of Suffering” Album, ‘Rotting In Vain’ Music Video Released


kornpromo2016_638_fa6Korn will release its new album, “The Serenity Of Suffering”, on October 21. The follow-up to 2013’s “The Paradigm Shift” was helmed by Grammy Award-winning producer Nick Raskulinecz, who has previously worked with Foo Fighters, Deftones, Mastodon and Rush, among others. The CD features a guest appearance by Slipknot frontman Corey Taylor on the song ‘A Different World’.

“The Serenity Of Suffering” marks the band’s return to Roadrunner, which previously released 2010’s “Korn III – Remember Who You Are” and 2011’s “The Path Of Totality”.

The official video for the song ‘Rotting In Vain’, which stars actor Tommy Flanagan (Sons Of Anarchy, Gladiator), can be seen below. The clip, which taps into the dark underbelly of a bizarre world, was lensed by famed rock video director Dean Karr.

The cover art for “The Serenity Of Suffering” was created by acclaimed artist Ron English. It depicts a teenage Korn fan at a dystopian acid-nightmare funfair who is clutching a disembowelled and skeletal version of the doll who adorned 1999’s “Issues”.

Korn frontman Jonathan Davis told Rolling Stone about the track: “‘Rotting In Vain’ was written about being in that black place, being in situations that I don’t like in life — be it relationships, or feeling when you’re stuck and you’re just being abused or you don’t like where you’re at, and you just sit there and rot. It takes you years and years to figure out how to claw your way out. That’s where ‘Rotting In Vain’ came from. I’m just sitting there, fucking dying and letting it happen for years and years and not helping myself to get out of that place. That’s the vibe that inspired the song.”

“The Serenity Of Suffering” marks the second Korn album since the return of guitarist Brian “Head” Welch, who said, “This is a record to me that the intensity of Korn is back, and the live energy. Raw energy is there.”

Korn will hit the road this fall with co-headliners Breaking Benjamin for the “Nocturnal Underground Tour”, which will kick off on September 24 in Fargo, North Dakota and run through late October.
All dates and locations can be found here.


Track listing:

01. Insane
02. Rotting In Vain
03. Black Is The Soul
04. The Hating
05. A Different World (feat. Corey Taylor)
Video below:06. Take Me
07. Everything Falls Apart
08. Die Yet Another Night
09. When You’re Not There
10. Next In Line
11. Please Come For Me


Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Video below: ‘Rotting In Vain’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts