‘In Vain’ Begins Recording Third Album, This Monday


Norwegian Progressive extreme metal band In Vain issued the following update: We enter the studio on Monday to start the recording of our third album. 8 songs will be recorded and we are very pleased with the new material. Stay tuned for more updates!

In Vain was formed by J. Haaland and A. Frigstad back in 2003. Their debut album was released in 2007, the metal world didn’t know what hit them. The Latter Rain was recorded in DUB Studio [Green Carnation, Blood Red Throne & Chain Collector] in the summer/fall of 2006. The recording was a huge project involving close to 20 guest musicians and several guest vocalists such as legendary Jan K. Transeth [In the Woods…] and Kjetil Nordhus [Tristania, ex Green Carnation, ex Trail of Tears]. Although the band kept the same vibe as on the two previous recordings the music was taken a step further, in every direction. A united metal press praised the album, and it was described as an instant classic.

Their latest album Mantra was released januari 2010 via Indie Recordings. The album also includes a bonus disc with a The Making Of… documentary, one bonus track, screensavers, desktop images and more. Last June the band releases a music video for Dark Prophets, Black Hearts [taken from Mantra]. The video can be seen below.

Band members:
J. Haaland – Guitars, bgv and sounds
A. Frigstad – Main vocals
S. Nedland – Clean vocals, piano, organs and bgv
S. Reinhardtsen – Drums
K. Wikstøl – Bass and Hardcore vocals
K. D. Pedersen – Guitars and bgv

2004 – Will The Sun Ever Rise (EP)
2005 – Wounds (EP)
2007 – The Latter Rain
2010 – Mantra

Weblinks: Facebook / Myspace

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts