‘Alter Bridge’ Releases ‘Words Darker Than Their Wings’ Video Live At The Royal Albert Hall


Coming on the heels of the announcement of Alter Bridge‘s career-defining set “Live At The Royal Albert Hall Featuring The Parallax Orchestra”, the band has released another video from the live performance. The latest track, “Words Darker Than Their Wings”, is a song from the group’s 2010 “ABIII” album that, until those two shows in October 2017, had never been previously performed live. The longtime crowd favorite showcases the first time that Myles Kennedy and Mark Tremonti share lead vocal duties, something that would be repeated on “Waters Rising” from the “Fortress” release.

‘Words Darker Than Their Wings’ was a song that we never played before ever and it’s been one of our favorites, especially me and Scott Phillips,” said Tremonti. “That’s been one of our top three Alter Bridge songs since we wrote it, and it’s just one of those songs that we have been trying and trying and trying to play live, and Myles is always kind of pushing back about it. And finally, you know, with this orchestra, [Myles] said, ‘This is the perfect time to do it.’ We did and it was the biggest reaction of both nights.”

After 14 years performing together, five full-length studio albums, and countless sold-out shows around the globe, there aren’t many items left on a band’s bucket list. For Alter Bridge, one of the remaining list items was crossed off in October 2017 when the band performed two sold-out shows at London’s iconic Royal Albert Hall backed by the 52-piece Parallax Orchestra led by conductor Simon Dobson. Those career-defining shows were captured and combined in the upcoming Napalm Records worldwide release “Live At The Royal Albert Hall” on September 7.

“Live At The Royal Albert Hall” is a 21-song collection that features some of Alter Bridge‘s biggest hits, fan favorites and even a couple of rarities including ‘Words Darker Than Their Wings’ — a song the band had never played live previously. Songs like ‘Before Tomorrow Comes’‘Ghost Of Days Gone By’, ‘The Last Hero’ and ‘Broken Wings’ all find new life with the unique arrangements presented by Dobson and the Parallax Orchestra performing alongside the band. The pre-order for the release is live and fans can order various audio and video configurations including Blu-ray, DVD, CD and vinyl as well as other unique bundles with exclusive content. A portion of the proceeds from all sales will go to the Future Song Foundation; an organization that Myles Kennedy is closely involved with.


Disc 1
1. Slip To The Void
2. Addicted To Pain
3. Before Tomorrow Comes
4. The Writing On The Wall
5. Cry Of Achilles
6. In Loving Memory
7. Fortress
8. Ties That Bind
9. The Other Side
10. Brand New Start
11. Ghost Of Days Gone By

Disc 2
12. The Last Hero
13. The End Is Here
14. Words Darker Than Their Wings
15. Waters Rising
16. Lover
17. Wonderful Life / Watch Over You
18. This Side Of Fate
19. Broken Wings
20. Blackbird
21. Open Your Eyes

Disc 3
1. Intro
2. Slip To The Void
3. Addicted To Pain
4. Before Tomorrow Comes
5. Show Preparation / Interview
6. The Writing On The Wall
7. Cry Of Achilles
8. In Loving Memory
9. Fortress
10. The First Rehearsal / Interview
11. Ties That Bind
12. The Other Side
13. Rehearsal Reactions
14. Brand New Start
15. Ghost Of Days Gone By
16. Future Song Foundation / Interview
17. The Last Hero
18. The End Is Here
19. Rehearsal – Wdttw / Interview
20. Words Darker Than Their Wings
21. 21.Waters Rising
22. Lover
23. Family / Interview
24. Wonderful Life/watch Over You
25. This Side Of Fate
26. Fans / Interview
27. Broken Wings
28. Blackbird
29. Open Your Eyes
30. End Titles / Credits

Weblinks:  Website / Facebook Twitter

Video for ‘Words Darker Than Their Wings ‘

Video for ‘Live At The Royal Albert Hall Featuring The Parallax Orchestra’ (Teaser)

Video for ‘Addicted to Pain’ (live)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts