Stryper Frontman Michael Sweet Confirms New Project with Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake), Nathan James (Inglorious)


Michael Sweet, the frontman of Stryper, is currently promoting his band’s new album, “Even The Devil Believes,” During a recent interview with Steve Harrison of ARfm’s The Unchained Rock Show, Sweet confirmed that he will start work on a new recording project at the beginning of 2021 with Whitesnake guitarist Joel Hoekstra and the singer from Inglorious, Nathan James.

During the in-depth interview, which can be heard below, Michael told Steve, “After the first of the New Year, I start a new project with Nathan James and Joel Hoekstra… we are doing like a Whitesnake throwback kind of album and then I’m doing a new Sweet And Lynch album right after that.”

Michael went on further to explain how the idea for the project came about, “Well, I’ve become dear friends with Nathan and I love his voice; and I was asked to work with him by Frontiers and it worked out where we are doing something. I’m going to be playing guitar and singing a few songs, a duet with him and I’m co-producing and co-writing and it’s going to be really cool… he is fantastic, I love him, great guy, great heart, great vocalist, he is one of my favourites, I can’t wait to work with him.”

Stryper have released a video for ‘Do Unto Others’, a track from their new album, “Even The Devil Believes,” out now. Watch the clip here.

Once again proving their lasting durability, Stryper returns with their 13th studio album, “Even The Devil Believes.” Filled with the band’s signature riffs, harmony-laden melodies and positive themes, the 11-track project is Stryper’s first studio album with Perry Richardson (Firehouse) on bass and background vocals.

Stryper is founded in 1983. The group’s name comes from Isaiah 53:5, which states: “But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

Stryper‘s albums include “To Hell With The Devil”, “Soldiers Under Command”, “The Yellow and Black Attack”, “In God We Trust”, “Against The Law”, “Reborn”, “Murder By Pride”, “No More Hell To Pay”, “Fallen” , “God Damn Evil” and the band’s latest effort, “Even The Devil Believes”  which is released on Sept. 4th. via Frontiers Music.

Sweet‘s tenth solo album, “Ten”, whas been released in October via Rat Pak Records in North America and Frontiers Music in Europe.

Our review of “Ten” can be found here.

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts