‘Obsession’ “Carnival of Lies” Re-Issue Announced, Album Teaser Available


obsessionInner Wound Recordings are proud to announce the re-issue of the classic Obsession reunion album “Carnival of Lies”. The release dates are set to July 17th for Europe and July 24th for North America. Check out an album teaser below!

“Carnival of Lies” a re-issue of the classic Obsession album, originally released in 2006. The album is re-mixed and re-mastered by Michael Vescera and features brand new artwork by Felipe Machado Franco [Blind Guardian, Rhapsody of Fire, Xandria, Rage]. The re-issue also includes two bonus tracks.

Obsession is an American heavy metal band formed in 1982 famous for spawning the career of singer Michael Vescera. The band first came on to the scene on the Metal Massacre 2 compilation from Metal Blade Records and then the classic EP “Marshall Law” was released 1984 on the same label. After that, Obsession released the albums “Scarred for Life” and “Methods of Madness” under the Enigma label before breaking up in 1989.

Michael Vescera joined the Japanese metal masters Loudness and recorded the albums “Soldier of Fortune” and “On the Prowl”. After that he joined the Swedish guitar master Yngwie Malmsteen on the albums “The Seventh Sign” and “Magnum Opus”. During these years Michael Vescera toured Japan, Europe and North America many times, and established himself as one of the top heavy metal vocalists in the world.

In 2004 Obsession reformed and released a new album called “Carnival of Lies” with Mausoleum Records/Avalon in 2006.

During 2009 Obsession started the writing for their next album “Order of Chaos” that was released in 2012 through Inner Wound Recordings. “Order of Chaos” received very good response from the metal press and fans. During the last years Obsession have done some touring in the US, as well as a trip to Germany for the Keep it True Festival in 2010 and the bands first show in Costa Rica.

The 2006 release “Carnival of Lies” have been out of print and hard to get ahold of for many years now. It was recently re-mixed and re-mastered by Michael Vescera and is now re-released through Inner Wound Recordings.

There’s two bonus tracks on this edition and the album artwork is brand new created by no other than Felipe Machado Franco, known for his work with Blind Guardian, Rhapsody of Fire, Xandria, Rage and many more.

Join Obsession and enter the Carnival of Lies!

Carnival of Lies

01. Smoking Gun
02. Carnival of Lies
03. In for the Kill
04. Playing Dead
05. Imagining
06. The Offering
07. Pure Evil
08. I Don’t Belong
09. Written in Blood
10. Guilty as Charged
11. Marshall Law

Bonus tracks
12. Panic in the Streets
13. Judas

Pre-order here:

Obsession “Carnival of Lies” line-up:
Michael Vescera [Animetal USA, ex Loudness, Yngwie Malmsteen] – Vocals
Jay Mezias – Drums
Scott Boland [MVP] – Guitars
John Bruno [X Factor X] – Guitars
Chris Mccarvill [House of Lords, ex Dokken, Jeff Scott Soto] – Bass

Weblinks: Website / Facebook

Video below: “Carnival of Lies” (Album Teaser)

Related Articles:
Obsession – Order of Chaos [Album Review]
‘Obsession’ Announces New Bassist ‘Jeff Curtiss’ [Feb. 2014]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts