‘Michael Sweet’ Releases “Sole Songs and Stories From A Life In Music” DVD Trailer


Stryper frontman Michael Sweet will release his first ever solo DVD, “Sole: Songs And Stories From A Life In Music” on December 12th. Check out the trailer below and pre-order your copy now.

Playing time 102 Minutes – Featuring:

* A Solo Acoustic Performace from his 2017 Tour! (See Track List Below)
* A Brand New Interview!
* Never Before Seen Archive Footage!

Sweet‘s seventh solo album, “One Sided War”, was released in August 2016 via Rat Pak Records. Backing Michael on the record were Whitesnake guitarist Joel HoekstraEvanescence drummer Will Hunt, bassist John O’Boyle and East Coast shred-master Ethan Brosh.

Sweet told Screamer Magazine last year that “One Sided War” turned out to be “the heaviest album I’ve ever done. A lot of times, Stryper fans expect heavy and when Stryper doesn’t do it, that’s really a big issue. But when I don’t do it, it’s not as big an issue because fans typically expect a lighter side of Michael Sweet when I do solo albums, and they say that all the time.This is the album that I kind of wanted to put all those remarks to rest and I wanted to do something that was edgier and that compares to Stryper on that level. It holds its own against anything Stryper‘s done, for sure.”

Our review of “One Sided War” can be found here.

In a 2016 interview with The Aquarian WeeklySweet said that he enjoyed making solo albums “because it’s an opportunity to free myself up a little bit more, experiment a little bit more, and try some things that Stryper may not be able to try. So I just enjoy doing it. I love it. I’ve got a lot of music, a lot of solo music that I’d like to go out and play live that I think a lot of people would like to hear.”

Stryper recently finished recording all the basic tracks for its new album for an early 2018 release. The follow-up to 2015’s “Fallen” will be the band’s first disc since the addition of former Firehouse bassist Perry RichardsonPerry joined the band as the replacement for Stryper‘s longtime bassist Tim Gaines, who was fired from the group earlier this year.

Track Listing
1. You Know What to Do
2. Honestly
3. Always There For You
4. All For One
5. Someday
6. Real
7. Save Me
8. I’m Not Your Suicide
9. Strong
10. Dying Rose
11. Calling On You
12. To Hell With the Devil


Sweet is best known as the singer, guitarist, songwriter and producer for legendary hardrock pioneers Stryper, who have sold over ten million albums worldwide. In addition to StryperSweet has had a successful solo career, and he served as the guitarist and co-vocalist for the legendary classic rock band Boston from 2007 to 2011.

His project/band, Sweet & Lynch is centered around the talents of guitarist/vocalist Sweet and iconic guitarist George Lynch (Lynch Mob, KXM, ex-Dokken) along with bassist James Lomenzo (ex-Megadeth, White Lion, Black Label Society) and drummer Brian Tichy (The Dead Daisies, ex-Whitesnake).

The future remains bright for a man who has endured heartbreaking tribulations throughout his life and career, including the 2009 passing of his wife of more than 22 years, Kyle. In 2010, Sweet remarried to Lisa Champagne-Sweet, a woman he describes as “a Godsend and the one who fits perfectly by my side.” Sweet continues to record and tour with Stryper, as well as touring and recording as a solo artist.

Michael Sweet solo acoustic show:

Dec 14, 2017 – The Spire Center for Performing Arts, Plymouth MA
Feb 11, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL
Feb 12, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL
Feb 13, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL
Feb 14, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL
Feb 15, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL
Feb 16, 2018 – Monsters of Rock Cruise 2018, Miami, FL

Weblinks: Facebook  / Twitter Website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts