Michael Sweet on Stryper’s “Even The Devil Believes”: ‘It’s For Sure a Hundred Percent Metal Album’ (Video Interview)


Stryper will release their new album, “Even The Devil Believes”, on September 4 via Frontiers Music. The 11-track project is Stryper‘s first studio album with Perry Richardson (Firehouse) on bass and background vocals.

Sweet, who also produced the new album, told “Fox 17 Rock And Review” about the effort (see video below): “This album, I kept saying, ‘It’s a metal album. It’s a metal album,’ and it is. It’s for sure a hundred percent metal album. But at the same time, we really wanted to incorporate more melodies and bring back a little bit more of the melodic side of the band as well as the edgy side of the band. So, these are metal songs, but with lots of melodies and vocal parts going on.”

Sweet went on to say that his next year is “pretty booked solid” despite the fact that live concerts are still mostly prohibited, with no end in sight.

“We’re gonna be doing a couple of on-demand live shows here,” he said. “Those won’t come out till a little bit later on, but the guys are here now; we’re doing that — rehearsing for that. Then I’m gonna finish singing the Sunbomb album will Tracii Guns. And then I’ve got two projects to do with Frontiers. The next year, I’m gonna do a solo album early in the year. And then I’m talking about a [third] Sweet & Lynch album [collaboration with George Lynch], and then we’ll do a Stryper album at the end of the year or beginning of the following year.”

Most of the recording sessions for Stryper‘s new album took place at SpiritHouse Recording Studios in Northampton, Massachusetts with engineer Danny Bernini.

“Even The Devil Believes” track listing:

01. Blood From Above (lyric video)
02. Make Love Great Again (lyric video)
03. Let Him In
04. Do Unto Others
05. Even The Devil Believes
06. How To Fly
07. Divider
08. This I Pray
09. Invitation Only
10. For God & Rock ‘N’ Roll
11. Middle Finger Messiah

Stryper is founded in 1983. The group’s name comes from Isaiah 53:5, which states: “But he was wounded for our transgressions, he was bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace was upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

Stryper‘s albums include “To Hell With The Devil”, “Soldiers Under Command”, “The Yellow and Black Attack”, “In God We Trust”, “Against The Law”, “No More Hell To Pay”, “Fallen” and the band’s latest effort, “God Damn Evil” which has been released on April 20 2018 via Frontiers Music Srl. Produced by frontman Michael Sweet, it is Stryper‘s most powerful album to date,

Our review of “God Damn Evil” can be found here.

Sweet‘s tenth solo album, “Ten”, whas been released in October via Rat Pak Records in North America and Frontiers Music in Europe.

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts