‘Michael Sweet’ Discusses Stryper’s Single ‘Yahweh’ (Video)


stryperpromo2015band_638“Fallen”, the new album from legendary hardrock  Stryper, will be released worldwide on Friday, October 16 via Frontier Records. The CD was tracked at SpiritHouse Recording Studios in Northampton, Massachusetts and will include a cover version of the Black Sabbath classic ‘After Forever’.

The first song from “Fallen”, ‘Yahweh’, is released on July 8th. Michael Sweet had a writing partner for this song, Clint Lowery of Sevendust. A new video message from Sweet regarding how the collaboration with Lowery came about can be seen below.

Says Michael, “I met Clint Lowery on a plane last year. He said hello and when we got off the plane we took a photo and he mentioned the influence Stryper was on him when he was younger. It was surprising to hear due to the obvious talent that Clint is blessed with. We started following each other on Twitter and Instagram and then we exchanged contact info.

I reached out to Clint and asked him if he would like to co-write a track or two for the new Stryper album. Clint agreed and sent me a few riff ideas. I was instantly drawn to the riff that he sent which eventually became ‘Yahweh’. I took his original idea and somehow created this 6:30 minute song, which is quite epic and honestly may be one of the most powerful songs we’ve done in a long time. I sent it to Chris Jericho (Fozzy) and he texted me writing, “Yahweh is your best tune, maybe since you reunited”. Clint is a very great and gifted writer so I wanted to have him involved in one way or another. Once the song was mixed I sent it to Clint and he responded with, “The tune is amazing man. It’s got that old school spirit with this modern take. That choir vibe on chorus is beautiful. Vibe change for the solo. Epic my man. Solos are stellar. I don’t remember sending anything near this cool ; ).” We’re excited to be able to finally share this song with all of you!”

The cover artwork for “Fallen”, which also can be seen below, was designed by Stanis Decker, who worked with Stryper on 2013’s “No More Hell To Pay”. Stryper frontman Michael Sweet says: ‘We sent Stanis the concept about Lucifer being cast out of heaven and he sent us this amazing illustration, capturing the original idea perfectly. We’re excited to be able to finally show all of you!’

Regarding the musical direction of the new Stryper material, Sweet said: ‘It’s gonna be… I don’t wanna scare any fans away or anything, but it’s gonna be the heaviest album we’ve done. Not in the sense that it’s gonna be thrash metal or anything like that. It’s definitely got a little bit of a darker vibe to it lyrically and musically. Some of the songs are tuned down — not like the modern dropped B stuff; I’m talking like the E dropped to D, ‘Unchained’ Van Halen kind of stuff. And it’s just got a heavy sound to it. And I think when people hear it, in a good way, they’re gonna go, ‘That’s Stryper? What?’ I think they’re gonna be shocked.’

In other news, Ulterium Records recently announced the release of a limited double gatefold vinyl edition of the Stryper live album “Live at the Whisky”. A deal was inked with Frontiers Records and the European release date is set to August 7th. The edition is strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide.

The vinyl edition features new artwork created by Jan Yrlund of Darkgrove Design. Artwork and tracklist can be seen here.


01. Yahweh
02. Fallen
03. Pride
04. Big Screen Lies
05. Heaven
06. Love You Like I Do
07. All over Again
08. After Forever
09. Till I Get What I Need
10. Let There Be Light
11. The Calling
12. King of Kings

Upcoming Shows:
Sept. 12 – House of Blues, Anaheim, CA, US

Video below: ‘Yahweh’ (Audio)

Related Articles:
‘Michael Sweet’ Says “I’m Almost 50 Yet I Feel Like I’ve Lived The Life Of A Man Who Is Almost 90″ [Feb. 2013]
‘Dave Mustaine’ Says ‘Michael Sweet’ And I ‘Believe In The Same Jesus’ [Feb. 2013]
Stryper – Second Coming [Album review]
Stryper – “No More Hell to Pay” [Album Review]
‘Stryper’ Drummer ‘Robert Sweet’ Announce Plans To Work With ‘Confirmed’ [Oct. 2013]]
Ex-Death/Iced Earth drummer ‘Richard Christy’ Jams with ‘Stryper’ on Stage, Video Available [April 2014]
‘Stryper’ Performs ‘God’ for the First Time (Fan-Filmed Video Footage) [June 2014]
Stryper – “Live At The Whisky” [Album Review]
‘Stryper’ Frontman ‘Michael Sweet’ Says ‘So far 8 Songs Are Ready to Go!’ [Jan. 2015]
‘Stryper’ Full Clip of ‘Legacy’ from the “Live At The Whisky” DVD, Available for Streaming [Feb. 2015]
‘Stryper’ In The Hot Tub – Video Update from ‘Spirithouse Studio’ [March.2015]
‘Michael Sweet’ Challenges Rock Vocal Coach ‘Ken Tamplin’ to Cover a ‘Stryper’ Song (Video) [March 2015]
‘Queensrÿche’ Singer ‘Todd La Torre’ Plays Drums for ‘Stryper’ on ‘Monsters of Rock Cruise’ (Video) [April 2015]
‘Stryper’ “Live At The Whiskey” Limited Vinyl Edition Announced, Pre-Order Your Copy Now [May 2015]
‘Stryper’ Reveal Cover Art for “Fallen”, First Single ‘Yahweh’ will be Released Beginning July [June 2015]
‘Stryper’ “Fallen” Samples Available, Album Due In October [June 2015]
‘Stryper’ Performs ‘Ain’t Talkin ‘Bout Love’ at “Monsters of Rock – Pre Cruise Party” (Video) [July 2015]
Listen to the New ‘Stryper’ Song ‘Yahweh’ [July 2015]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts