Metalcore Band ‘Silent Planet’ Releases New Song ‘Psychescape’ (Feat. Underøath Vocalist Spencer Chamberlain)


Silent_Planet_-_2016_e86Metalcore band Silent Planet have released a new song entitled ‘Psychescape’, which features Spencer Chamberlain from Underøath. The song appears on the band’s upcoming album “Everything Was Sound” which is set to be released on July 1st, 2016 via Solid State Records. The song can be streamed below.

Silent Planet vocalist Garrett Russell comments: “The song is told from the viewpoint of a character that suffers from Schizophrenia. I speak in the mindset of the character as he wishes to escape his mind and the control of society, whereas Spencer speaks as the voice of indifference towards reality and taboos of culture – overall embracing what some might call ‘madness’ as a gift.”

Spencer, who dealt heavily with themes of paranoia and social control throughout a decade of Underøath, co-wrote the lyrics on the song. We were beyond thrilled when he agreed to be on the record, and after working with him, our respect for him as an artist and performer is triple-fold.”

Written as a concept piece, “Everything Was Sound” takes place within a Panopticon – a prison of deception. By definition, a Panopticon is a circular prison where prisoners can be viewed from a central well at all times. Further elaborating the concept Russell said “every room in the prison is another person diagnosed with mental illness. Some of them suffer from environmental trauma, like PTSD, which Russell argues to be an internalization of the violent world we create. “I’m trying to understand these stories throughout the songs – both challenging society’s stigmatization of mental illness while searching for hope amidst the inner-reality of suffering people.” To Russell, who holds a Masters Degree in Clinical Psychology (and revealed that he has been diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder) the album hits especially close to home.

Track Listing:
1. Inherit the Earth
2. Psychescape
3. Dying in Circles
4. Understanding Love As Loss
5. Tout Comprendre
6. Panic Room
8. Nervosa
9. C’est Tout Pardonner
10. Orphan
11. No Place To Breathe
12. First Father
13. Inhabit the Wound


Upcoming Shows:
Jun 24 Gexa Energy Pavilion Dallas, TX
Jun 25 AT&T Center San Antonio, TX
Jun 26 NRG Park-Main Street Lot Houston, TX
Jun 27 Mardi Gras World New Orleans, LA
Jun 29 The Fairgrounds Nashville Nashville, TN
Jun 30 Lakewood Amphitheater Atlanta, GA
Jul 01 Vinoy Park St Petersburg, FL
Jul 02 Tinker Field Orlando, FL
Jul 03 Perfect Vodka Amphitheatre At The South Florida Fairgrounds West Palm Beach, FL
Jul 05 PNC Music Pavilion Charlotte, NC
Jul 06 Veterans United Home Loans Amphitheater at Virginia Beach Virginia Beach, VA
Jul 07 Lakeview Amphitheater Syracuse, NY
Jul 08 BB&T Pavilion Camden, NJ
Jul 09 Nikon at Jones Beach Amphitheatre Wantagh, NY
Jul 10 The XFINITY Theatre Hartford, CT
Jul 11 The Pavilion at Montage Mountain Scranton, PA
Jul 13 Xfinity Center Mansfield, MA
Jul 14 Darien Lake Performing Arts Center Darien Center, NY
Jul 15 First Niagara Pavilion Burgettstown, PA
Jul 16 Merriweather Post Pavilion Columbia, MD
Jul 17 P.N.C. Bank Arts Center Holmdel, NJ

Weblinks: Facebook / Website / Twitter

Video below: ‘Psychescape’

Video below: ‘Panic Room’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts