‘Magnus Rosén’ (ex-Hammerfall) Joins Brazilian Metal Band ‘Shadowside’


Magnus RosénBrazilian female-fronted metallers Shadowside have announced the addition of Swedish bassist Magnus Rosén (ex-Hammerfall) to the group’s ranks.

Magnus was part of Hammerfall from 1997 to 2007, during which time he did several world tours and recorded several albums with the band. He also worked on music with Jorn Lande (ex-Masterplan) and Tony Martin (ex-Black Sabbath).

Rosén, who just released his tenth solo CD titled “The World Changes”, says: “I’ve been away from the metal stage for more than eight years! Metal has a very nice energy that I miss and love, and I think Shadowside has just that kind of nice metal that fits my style! And at the same time I always liked Brazil/South America. After nine times with mixed Hammerfall tours and solo bass tours in this part of world, I know for sure of my feelings and I am looking forward to join the band Shadowside. So when I was asked to join and play with Shadowside, so was the desire great to once again set a high volume, smoke, light, and good metal music. The band have nice feelings in the metal music that I like. I got few new song ideas from the band and I think these songs and music are powerful and will be loved by the people out there. So I can’t wait to get the wheels moving forward with the band.”

Shadowside singer Dani Nolden adds: “Magnus is someone we admire greatly and it is an honor to work with him, not only because of his great skills as a bass player but also because he has an incredible experience with many different and special projects. We felt he would be a perfect match for us and we’re thrilled that he accepted our invitation to join Shadowside. Now we can’t wait to start the recordings and get this show on the road. It’s going to be amazing!”

Rosén is already participating in the songwriting process for the new Shadowside album, which is set to be recorded between June and August 2016 in Gothenburg, Sweden. Once again, Fredrik Nordström (At The Gates, In Flames, Dark Tranquility, Arch Enemy, Soilwork) will be in charge of the album production.

Shadowside’s current lineup is completed by guitarist Raphael Mattos and drummer Fabio Buitvidas.

The band’s latest album“Inner Monster Out” was released in May 2012 via Inner Wound Recordings. The CD featured guest vocals from Björn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork), Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquility) and Niklas Isfeldt (Dream Evil).

Dani Nolden stated about the band’s last CD, “‘Inner Monster Out’ is about letting your hidden persona show through, and about everything we always classify as not normal in human beings. The lyrics deal with everyone’s fears, reactions, perversions, personality disorders and although it can be seen as a dark album, it also makes it clear that we all have a little bit of crazy and disturbed in a certain way. It’s a musically intense album, with lots of angry guitars, bringing together the best of ‘Dare To Dream’ and ‘Theatre Of Shadows’, but with new and better things that we didn’t try before. I’m especially proud and happy about the result we achieved on this album… we wrote and recorded songs that we like to hear and play and it’s by far our best material so far.”

Our review of “Inner Monster Out” can be found here.


Weblinks: Website / Facebook  / Twitter


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts