Eluveitie to Release “Ategnatos” Album In April


Swiss folk metal stars Eluveitie have announced a new album!

The new album, titled “Ategnatos,” arrives after the longest gap between metal albums from the Swiss folk metallers and is scheduled to be released in April this year.

Recordings took place in their beloved New Sound Studio with their engineer of choice Tommy Vetterli and mixing duties were handled by renowned studio wizard Jens Bogren in his Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden. The upcoming album features a real string quartet and granted Fabienne Erni’s harp the room it deserved.

Speaking about the upcoming record, frontman Chrigel Glanzmann says, “this one almost became something like a socio-critical uncovering work, some kind of a revelation, a doomsday prophecy. Dark and severe in its atmosphere and charisma, and also occult, arcane and elitist. The image, of course, is blood-curling. At least to those with eyes to see. Ategnatos is the Gaulish word for ‘reborn’. To the sharpened mind, it points out the concealed, long forgotten key to change and renewal. There’s always suffering before bliss. And always darkness before light.”

“Ategnatos” is set for release on April 5th via Nuclear Blast Records. More information will be revealed in the coming weeks and months.

The band’s new lineup made its live debut at the Eluveitie & Friends festival in January 2017 at Z7 in Pratteln, Switzerland.

Current line-up:

* Jonas Wolf (guitar)
* Matteo Sisti (whistles, bagpipes, mandola)
* Nicole Ansperger (fiddle)
* Alain Ackermann (drums)
* Chrigel Glanzmann (vocals, whistles, mandola, bagpipes, bodhran)
* Fabienne Erni (vocals, celtic harp, mandola)
* Kay Brem (bass)
* Michalina Malisz (hurdy gurdy)
* Rafael Salzmann (guitar)

Weblinks: Website Facebook Twitter

Video for ‘Rebirth’


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts