Becoming The Archetype To Return With New Album “Children Of The Great Extinction”, Debut First Single ‘The Lost Colony’


Technical death metal band Becoming The Archetype have announced their return from hiatus. To that end their first studio album since 2012’s I Am has just been announced for an August 26th release. Solid State Records will be issuing that effort, which the band have christened “Children Of The Great Extinction“.

A first single from it, ‘The Lost Colony’ has been shared online in advance. Check out the music video below.

“Children Of The Great Extinction” Track Listing:

  1. The Dead World
  2. The Lost Colony
  3. The Remnant
  4. The Calling
  5. The Phantom Field
  6. The Awakening
  7. The Hollow
  8. The Ruins (feat. Demon Hunter’s Ryan Clark)
  9. The Curse
  10. The Sacrament

Pre-orders for the album have also gone up over at this location.

Jason Wisdom said the following:

“The task of creating a new album after 10-plus years away from the band felt very daunting for me, to say the least. It’s not a matter of creating new music. I’ve written and released more than 50 songs in the past decade with other projects. The real difficult part was the idea of trying to recapture the true spirit of Becoming the Archetype.

Nostalgic fans have expectations that are impossible to meet. Those of us in the band have unique life stories that we bring to the table after all of this time apart — we have grown in different ways as people and creatively. So when we finally set out to accomplish this ‘comeback’ album, we all agreed that this needs to feel like what people remember when they think of BtA. Other than that, we just did like we always used to — we chased the sounds we like.

We hope that old fans will listen and feel like they’re visiting an old friend after many years. At the same time, we hope that new fans will discover something that is fresh and feels current.”

He also added:

“This new album isn’t just about making more music, but about re-capturing the original artistic spirit of the band. ‘Children of the Great Extinction’ is not just another BtA album. It is a fully realized vision of Becoming the Archetype that we’ve always wanted to put forth. When you hear it, I hope you think, ‘Becoming the Archetype is back!’”

Seth Hecox commented as well:

“Thematically, it reflects the reality of our current humanitarian situation. Existential dread pervades our existence. People have experience with real monsters in addition to facing our own mortality. These things are evident not only in metal culture, but greater culture as well. We touch upon all of this as well as the possibility of redemption and salvation from those terrors.”

Video for ‘The Lost Colony’

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts