‘Wovenwar’ – “Honor Is Dead” Album Details Revealed, New Lyric Video Released


wovenwar-2016Wovenwar the band featuring the talents of Jordan Mancino (drums), Nick Hipa (guitar), Phil Sgrosso (guitar) and Josh Gilbert (bass) of San Diego, California based metal act As I Lay Dying, and Shane Blay (vocals) of Oh, Sleeper, launches concept video for new track, ‘Censorship’ online! On October 21st, Wovenwar will release their sophomore album, “Honor Is Dead”, via Metal Blade Records. More aggressive and fluid than its self-titled predecessor, “Honor Is Dead” was written with contributions from all members, while the music for “Wovenwar” was mostly written before vocalist Shane Blay joined the band. The results speak for themselves, capturing a group that sounds truly unified, and hungry.

For a first preview of “Honor Is Dead”, a concept video — created by Hipa — for the first single, ‘Censorship’, can be viewed below.

For “Honor Is Dead”, Wovenwar chose not to converge at the same studio to lay down the record, taking advantage of modern technology instead by recording their individual parts in convenient locales across California, Alabama and Texas — which was not without its downsides.

“Recording separately across multiple states at different times with a mixing engineer bouncing between multiple countries made things very tricky,” Hipa admits. “Luckily we’ve all made records before and everything ended up working out.”

Expanding upon the ruthlessly catchy melodies and hooks of their debut, “Honor Is Dead” makes for a listening experience with real depth, and a broad emotional range. Driven by a darker lyrical theme, the album’s eleven tracks hit with devastating force.



1. Confession
2. Censorship
3. Honor Is Dead
4. Lines in the Sand
5. World on Fire
6. Compass
7. Stones Thrown
8. Cascade
9. Silhouette
10. Bloodletter
11. 130

Wovenwar‘s self-titled debut album, which was released in August 2014 via Metal Blade. The CD was produced by Bill Stevenson (Descendents, Black Flag) and mixed byColin Richardson (Slipknot, Machine Head, Trivium).

Our review of Wovenwar‘s self-titled debut album can be read here.

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter / Website

Video below: ‘Censorship’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts