Social Suicide – Broken Pilgrims


Social Suicide is a hardcore band (with punk influences) from Bergen,Norway. They released their debut album ‘Broken Pilgrims’ in April 2011 and toured Europe as part of the ‘Through The Noise European Tour 2011’ with Comeback Kid, The Ghost Inside, Kvelertak and Gravemaker. The band was comprised of Sondre Haug (vocals), Bjarte Haugland (guitar), Remi Arefjord (bass) and Esteban Munoz (drums). Their sound has been compared to Norma Jean, Glassjaw, Refused and The Dillenger Escape Plan.

Opening with squalling feedback ‘Mail From The Watchtower’ features throat-ripping screams “The priest has spoken / This world is crashing down / Burning slowly / We watch everything DIE” along with stop/start guitar. ‘Death Of New Kings’ is short, fast and furious, whereas ‘Harlots & Prophets’ is more straight-forward with additional guest vocals by Ivar Nikolaisen (Silver).

The title track has the brutal hardcore riffing and screams “Unclear visions / Meaningless speeches / Parts of a broken pilgrim’s goal / Let us hope we’re not next in line” and also has clear gang vocals for the chorus “We will continue / Providing the world / On and on and off and on and on / You beg for our defeat / We’re ready for attack”.

‘Fallen Angels’ slows down the tempo and allows the band to be more experimental with their sound, including a hand-clapped mid-section. Then it’s the glorious ‘5th Man On A Dead Man’s Grave’ with its sparse riffing. There is also a youtube video for this which is worth watching.

They also use some subtle Norwegian black metal influences in ‘Enemy Cave’ and guest vocals from Anders Mathiesen (Of Grace And Hatred). Finally ‘The Last Martyrs’ cuts a similar groove to the opening track.

There is nothing particularly wrong with this album, but it just doesn’t quite hit the mark. So I’m waiting to see what they have on offer next time with their new vocalist, Marius Jahnsen.

Rating: 5/10

Reviewed by Peter John Willoughby

Track list:
Mail From The Watchtower
Death Of New Kings
Harlots & Prophets
Broken Pilgrims
Fallen Angels
5th Man On A Dead Man’s Grave
Let The Waves Come
Enemy Cave
Rodeo III
The Last Martyrs

Band members:
Esteban Munoz – Drums
Bjarte Haugland – Guitar
Remi Arefjord – Bass
Sondre Haug – Vocals  

Label: Redfield Records / 2011

Weblinks: Myspace / Facebook

Below: Music video for Social Suicides first single “5th Man on a Dead Man’s Grave”, available at Itunes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts