Skillet To Release New Album “Dominion” Early Next Year, First Single Released ‘Surviving The Game’


Multi-platinum rockers Skillet will release their new studio album, “Dominion”, on January 14, 2022 via Atlantic. Their 11th studio project, it follows Skillet‘s amazing track record of two RIAA certified multi-platinum albums, two gold albums, five RIAA certified multi-platinum singles, and four gold singles. Simultaneously unveiling the project’s stunning cover art and track listing, “Dominion”‘s first Active Rock radio single, ‘Surviving The Game’ is available now as an instant grat with album pre-order, and fans can also pre-save the album. The album, produced by Kevin Churko (Ozzy Osbourne, Papa Roach, Disturbed), with songs written by John Cooper, Korey Cooper, Kevin Churko and Kane Churko, was created 100 percent remotely between the band’s tour dates, home studio in Wisconsin and the Churkos’ studio in Las Vegas.

‘Dominion’ is about the celebration of freedom, a liberation from fear — to be who we want to be, say what we want to say, believe what we want to believe,” John Cooper says. “In some ways, it’s a reminder of the God-given rights that we were born with. It’s time to regain some sort of control over our lives and not be a slave to fear. I hope this record is going to make people feel empowered, inspired, uplifted and want to rock their faces off!”

In advance of ‘Surviving The Game’‘s release, Atlantic Records president of A&R Pete Ganbarg and the band’s A&R rep Andy Karp hosted Skillet for a performance and question-and-answer session about the track, which Ganbarg describes as “pure anthemic Skillet — a song that speaks to the unprecedented times we’re all facing with the ferocity that has been the band’s trademark for over two decades. It’s a fierce, welcome return.”

John Cooper describes the track as as “a defiant song about not giving in to the fear that the world is and has been experiencing. This song brings a feeling of survival; you have to do what you need to do in order to get your life back; a defiance against fear and the things that want to hold you down. For so many, that’s depression, isolation, lonelieness, suicidal thoughts, etc. This song is about becoming the person you are meant be and coming out on the other side of all the madness.”

The band premiered the track’s music video on youtube, following a live video chat. Shot in the expansive desert outside Los Angeles last month, the video is made up of a mixture of high-energy band performances alongside a storyline where a young kid rules the land, entraps the band and they have to fight through pain and fear to make it out alive.

“Dominion” track listing:

  1. Surviving The Game
  2. Standing In The Storm
  3. Dominion
  4. Valley Of Death
  5. Beyond Incredible
  6. Destiny
  7. Refuge
  8. Shout Your Freedom
  9. Destroyer
  10. Forever Or The End
  11. Ignite
  12. White Horse

Video for ‘Surving The Game’

This fall, Skillet is headlining 24 shows with Adelitas Way as main support as well as Evan Under Fire. The trek, dubbed “The Aftermath Tour”, kicked off September 12 in Chicago and will run through October 22 in St. Louis. A limited quantity of VIP packages is available as well, which include a ticket, preshow question-and-answer session and trivia contest hosted by Skillet, and exclusive merchandise.

Skillet‘s latest studio album, “Victorious”, has been released August 2nd. 2019 via Atlantic.

Our review can be found here.

Weblinks: Website Facebook / Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts