‘Platens’ (Feat. Former ‘Thy Majestie’ singer ‘Dario Grillo’) “Out of the World” Album Teaser Available, Pre-Order Your Copy Now


Platens 2014After 10 years from the Platens’ debut album, Dario is coming back with a brand new album titled “Out Of The World” and a renewed line up:  Dario Grillo – vocals, guitars, keyboards; Riccardo Barbiera – drums; Domiziano Mendolia – bass; Gabriels – Hammond & synth.“Out Of The World” continues to showcase Dario’s impressive writing skills and knack of working melody and mood into the most complex musical arrangements. The 11 track, 54 minute album features inspired vocals, top class production and mix, outstanding individual performances from all and some complex, yet easily accessible powerful hard rock music. The album mixes elements of progressive and symphonic rock, AOR and  melodic rock and will be released by MelodicRock Records August 22.

A new preview can be streamed below just as artwork and tracklist.

Platens is a melodic rock project brainchild of Dario Grillo a young and talented singer, songwriter and musician born in Palermo, Italy in 1979. He learned to play guitar very soon but later on he improved his technique studying with Italian classical guitar players. Later on he also attended the Palermo Music School, where he studied classical guitar and music theory for two years. During these high school years he formed, with his brothers Max and Alex, his first rock band called Dragon’s Breath.

In 1997, Dario met Claudio Diprima [current drummer of Thy Majestie] and together they put up Squeezy Boyz, the first real street-glam band in Palermo. At the same time, Dario began to study singing and he had he chance to improve his skills thanks to some stages with Elizabeth Sabine [singing-master of Axl Rose, Dave Mustaine, Ron Keel etc.]. In 1998 he joined Thy Majestie as lead singer, adapting his voice to the heavier sound of the band. The original and clear voice of Dario gave the music of Thy Majestie, a melodic feeling melted with the power of heavy metal of the band’s sound. After two albums [“The Lasting Power” and “Hastings 1066”] and one Ep [“Echoes of War”], Dario left Thy Majestie in October 2003 in order to dedicate all his energies to Platens, his new project, where he plays all the instruments. This new musical adventure sees the light of day on Frontiers Records whose president and A&R director, Serafino Perugino, heard the first demos and was enthusiast with what he heard. The debut album “Between Two Horizons” was released in 2004 and features a driving melodic hard rock approach very close to the sound of such bands as Fair Warning, Terra Nova and Grand Illusion. Big bombastic hooklines, driving rhythms and magnificent keyboards tied together with an incredible singing… This is what Platens has to offer to the dedicated listener proving that another talent to watch out for has born !

Platens-Out of the world 2014

01 – Running
02 – Time will tell
04 – you won’t bring me down
04 – Ask yourself
05 – I still search for you
06 – Sometimes I miss you
07 – Last final time
08 – Don’t leave me alone
09 – Deep in my heart
10 – No easy way out [Robert Tepper cover]
11 – Save me

Pre-order your copy by writing to ajm@melodicrock.com

Weblinks: Facebook / Myspace

Video below “Out of the World” (teaser)

Video below ‘Ask Yourself’ (preview)

Related Articles:
‘Platens’ (Feat. Former ‘Thy Majestie’ singer ‘Dario Grillo’) Announce new Album “Out of the World” [March 2014]
‘Platens’ (Feat. Former ‘Thy Majestie’ singer ‘Dario Grillo’) Signs with ‘Melodicrock Records’ new Album “Out of the World” Release Date August 22th. [July 2014]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts