New ‘Flyleaf Lineup Performs Live For First Time; Video Available


The new lineup of Flyleaf, featuring singer Kristen May [formerly of the group Vedera] made its live debut this past Saturday, November at the sold-out 400-capacity Grand Stafford Theater in downtown Bryan, Texas.

Local radio station KJXJ Rock 103.9 promoted the concert as a CD-release party for regional rockers Signal Rising and their new disc, entitled Novo, with opening acts Dimitris Rail and Eclipse.

Fan-filmed video footage of Flyleaf‘s performance can be seen below.

Just after May was announced as the new vocalist of Flyleaf, the band contacted its longtime friend Christerfer Pate, lead singer of Signal Rising, inquiring if they could use the CD-release party as a warm-up show.

Everything was hush-hush leading up to the night. Rock 103.9 joked of a “super-secret headliner named Aeronautical Foliage” so the diehard Flyleaf fans could grab tickets.

Flyleaf‘s third studio album, New Horizons, is likely to sell between 15,000 and 18,000 copies in the United States in its first week of release, according to industry web site Hits Daily Double. The estimate was based on one-day sales reports compiled after the record arrived in stores on October 30 via A&M/Octone. The CD’s cover artwork was designed by Flyleaf bassist Pat Seals, who also created a fold-out poster as part of the packaging.

Longtime Flyleaf‘ lead singer Lacey Sturm last month announced her departure from the band. She stated about her decision to exit the group, “I am very thankful to have recently become a mom to one of the greatest blessings of my life, my son Jack.

“You may have also heard that we recently lost our brilliant sound engineer, Rich Caldwell, in a devastating car accident. Now, more than ever, I understand the phrase ‘Memento Mori.’ I understand that, for me, living life to the fullest in this season means to step down as the lead singer for Flyleaf‘.”

Track listing:
01. Fire Fire
02. New Horizons
03. Call You Out
04. Cage On The Ground
05. Great Love
06. Bury Your Heart
07. Freedom
08. Saving Grace
09. Stand
10. Green Heart
11. Broken Wings

Band members:
Kristen – vocals
Sameer Bhattacharya – guitar
Jared Hartmann – guitar
Pat Seals – bass
James Culpepper – drums

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter 

Related articles:
‘Lacey Sturm’ Of ‘Flyleaf’ Featured On ‘Underworld Awakening’ Soundtrack [Jan. 2012]
‘Flyleaf’ Recording New Album [Feb. 2012]
 ‘Flyleaf’ To Play Special ‘Benefit Concert’ In Dallas [May 2012]
‘Flyleaf’ Guitarist Says Faith Is Still Huge Part Of Band’s Music [Aug. 2012]
 ‘Flyleaf’ ‘New Horizons’ Video Teaser [August 2012]
‘Flyleaf’ ‘New Horizons’ Album Cover Revealed [Oct. 2012]
‘Lacey Sturm’ Leaves ‘Flyleaf’, Official Statement [Oct. 2012]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts