My Silent Wake – Another New Song from Upcoming Album Available for Streaming


‘You Drift Away’ is another song from the upcoming My Silent Wake album “Invitation To Imperfection”. Frontman Ian Arkley says: “The words written directly after my Dad’s death.” The song can be streamed in the video below.

“Invitation To Imperfection” will be released by Opa Loka Records on March 20th. The band have long been noted for the diversity of their releases, as acclaimed for their ambient and acoustic work as for their majestic, melancholic doom metal and “Invitation To Imperfection” reaches even further into the realms of the darkly experimental and atmospheric. Not just a dark ambient album, not just an acoustic album, Invitation… is all of this and more.

An array of instruments and recording locations were used in the creation of what is one of My Silent Wake’s most enthralling and imaginative releases. Friends and associates from the extended My Silent Wake family added their own personal touches to bring to life what is a truly unique, special album.

Speaking about the ideas behind Invitation…, band main man, Ian Arkley has said: “So much music is overproduced these days, every note played to perfection. This album is about imperfection. It is not about virtuosity, high class production or striving to be noticed or to impress… it is about trying to create a balance which allows for things not being perfect whilst trying to create an interesting track. This isn’t just My Silent Wake ambient or just My Silent Wake acoustic; this is a mixture of the two which we sincerely hope you enjoy.”

“Invitation To Imperfection” is, in its own quiet way, as powerful as any of My Silent Wake’s magnificent doom albums. It’s thought provoking and dream invoking, it’s a journey out into the visions that the sounds inspire and a reflective journey into the heart and soul of the listener. As we said…a truly unique and special album.

Track Listing:

1 – Vorspiel
2 – Helgar Kindir
3 – Volta
4 – Bleak Spring
5 – Tempest
6 – The Fear
7 – Lament Of The Defeatist
8 – Aventurine
9 – Song Of Acceptance
10 – Nebular
11 – You Drift Away
12 – Cwiclác
13 – Return Of The Lost At Sea
14 – Melodien der Waldgeister

Ian Arkley – Vocals, Lead & Rhythm Guitar
Addam Westlake – Bass
Gareth Arlett – Drums
Simon Bibby – Keyboards
Mike Hitchen – Rhythm Guitar

Upcoming Shows:
17th. June – Hollowfest 3, Bristol (UK)

Weblinks: Website / FacebookTwitter / Bandcamp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts