‘Monotheist’ Signs with Prosthetic Records, Listen To The New Track ‘The Grey King’ of Upcoming Album


Monotheist are proud to announce that they have signed with Prosthetic Records! They will be releasing the upcoming album “Scourge” on March 16. The track appears on Monotheist’s sophomore album, “Scourge,” which was mixed and mastered by Shiv’s 7 Horns 7 Eyes bandmate, Aaron Smith. In addition to Älvestam, the album also features a guest appearance from Bobby Koelble (ex-Death, Death to All). The album comes out March 16 on Prosthetic Records via all digital outlets, compact disc, and limited edition blue with orange and yellow swirl wax.

Vocalist JJ “Shiv” Polachek (7 Horns 7 Eyes) told MetalSucks:

“Monotheist is made up of multiple people with different worldviews. Though it started as a very Christian band, it no longer could be accurately labeled that way. [Monotheist guitarist] Prophet very much still retains his faith, but he set me to write a song reflecting my own views, and ‘The Grey King’ is the result. A view of a universe that could be softly related to existential nihilism, if you had to call it something. It’s not scary or hopeless, but peaceful and with much knowledge to scrape from the battles that took place there. It’s an understanding of my own insignificance, and the lack of any narrative in the universe. It’s a freedom that I own, even if my kingdom is just grey, and only now made of the things I build it up to be myself. My intent is to rebuild myself better through it. Through a lens of self-criticism, with a goal of material understanding so I can contribute to justice on a human level however possible. Other songs on the album have largely been written by Prophet, and indeed reflect his views. This one is all mine, however. It all contributes to the great tapestry of sounds, thoughts, and influences that make up this album.”

1. The Grey King
2. The Great Chain at the Neck of the Earth
3. Mark of the Beast I: The Image (Prelude)
4. Mark of the Beast II: Scion of Darkness
5. Infinite Wisdom
6. Desolate, It Mourns Before Me
7. Abominable Acts
8. Scourge


Monotheist started as the solo project of Mike J. Moore [Prophet] in late 2005.Monotheist turned into a band when vocalist Jake Rice and bassist Elyssa Coultasjoined and helped record the band’s first album “Unforsaken” in mid-2007. Listeners were able to hear an eclectic mix of influences by bands like Extol, Opeth, Suffocation and Cynic. Classical, jazz and folk influences also permeated the sound that Monotheist had created on their first outing. After playing only a handful of shows in 2008 [with a lineup featuring JJ “Shiv” Polachek on vocals, Anthony Werton guitar, and Eirek Eichel on drums] the band seemed to have been abruptly frozen in its tracks. For almost 5 years, no real activity would be seen from the band. Then, in 2012, Monotheist, re-released “Unforsaken” and the duo of Prophet and Shiv [7 Horns 7 Eyes], reemerged from the wasteland of inactivity. Having recruited drummer Cooper Bates and guitarist Christian Martinez, the band began to play shows again in addition to recording its second release, the EP “Genesis of Perdition.” A result of music culled from writing sessions during the band’s period of live inactivity, the album showcases the next logical step in Monotheist’s evolution of sound. The songs are more concise and contain tighter songwriting, with improved recording quality and more complex riffs which require multiple listens to dissect the layers of sound and intertwining melodies. Fans of technical, forward-thinking death metal are sure to enjoy the new offering by these young talented musicians.

Their latest album “Genesis of Perdition” EP has been released in May 2013, our review can be found here.

Weblinks: Facebook / Reverbnation / Twitter / Bandcamp

Lyric video for ‘The Grey King’ (featuring Christian Alvestam)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts