‘Evergrey’ – New Song ‘Currents’ Available for Streaming, The Atlantic – Europe 2019 Tour Dates


‘Currents’, a new song from acclaimed Swedish dark melodic metal masters Evergrey, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the band’s new studio album, titled “The Atlantic”, which will be released on January 25. The band has worked extensively on the follow-up to 2016’s “The Storm Within” (which entered the charts on high positions in numerous countries).

Evergrey again teamed up with Jacob Hansen, who — just like with the band’s previous releases 2016’s “The Storm Within” and 2014’s “Hymns For The Broken” — took care of mixing and mastering.

“The Atlantic” sees the five Evergrey members — frontman/songwriter Tom S. Englund, guitarist Henrik Danhage, bassist Johan Niemann, drummer Jonas Ekdahl and keyboardist Rikard Zander — manifest their excellent reputation as one of the most unusual and innovative progressive metal acts worldwide, presenting the third part of their “Hymns For The Broken” trilogy about the adventure of life, part one having been launched in 2014.

“As on ‘Hymns For The Broken’ and its 2016 successor ‘The Storm Within’, the new album is about events and experiences in our lives,” Englund explains. “It’s about relationships, beauty and darkness, about fortune and grief, about love, hate, despair, joy and everything connected with it. Life is like a journey across the ocean, on the way to distant shores.”

In line with the programmatic album title and its expressive cover artwork (designed by Greek artist Giannis Nakos, renowned for his work for Oceans of Slumber and Hades Rising, among others), Evergrey takes its fans on a tempestuous expedition across the rough (prog metal) seas. The album kicks off with “A Silent Arc”, one of the probably fiercest and toughest numbers that Evergrey have ever recorded. “I love this song,” confesses Englund. “It’s really brutal in a certain kind of Evergrey way, with guitars that you might expect from a band like Behemoth, but certainly not from us. We’ve never sounded as dark or as raw before.”

“As with every album, we’ve given this one our all to come up with the optimum result,” enthuses Englund, who produced “The Atlantic” together with drummer Jonas Ekdahl, about the driving sound. The 10 songs on the album all stand out with their amazing power, but also with their depth and exciting detail. “Departure”, for example, embeds its vocals mainly in bass, drums, piano and acoustic guitar. “That kind of songwriting is something we’ve enjoyed doing on every album of this trilogy,” Englund explains proudly, adding: “This number sounds like an expedition instead of being arranged like your typical three-and-a-half minute hit.”

Which applies to “The Atlantic” in general. Englund says: “It’s probably our most complex and progressive release so far and includes all the elements that our fans love.”

Our review of “The Atlantic” can be found here.

“The Atlantic” track listing:

01. A Silent Arc
02. Weightless
03. All I Have
04. A Secret Atlantis
05. The Tidal
06. End Of Silence
07. Currents
08. Departure
09. The Beacon
10. This Ocean

Upcoming Shows:

FRI 25 JANUARY – Palatset, Linköping, Sweden
SAT 26 JANUARY – Pustervik, Gothenburg, Sweden
FRI 1 FEBRUARY – Katalin, Uppsala, Sweden
SAT 2 FEBRUARY – The Tivoli, Helsingborg, Sweden
FRI 8 MARCH – Doornroosje, Nijmegen, Netherlands
SAT 9 MARCH – Melkweg Max, Amsterdam, Netherlands
SUN 10 MARCH – TRIX Centrum voor Muziek, Borgerhout, Belgium
TUE 12 MARCH – Le Noumatrouff, Mulhouse, France
WED 13 MARCH – Pont Rouge, Monthey, Switzerland
FRI 15 MARCH – Matrix, Bochum, Germany
SAT 16 MARCH – Komplex 457, Zürich, Switzerland
SUN 17 MARCH – Café Central, Weinheim, Germany
MON 18 MARCH – Hirsch, Nuremberg, Germany
TUE 19 MARCH – Tivoli, Bremen, Germany
THU 21 MARCH – Club Academy. Manchester, UK
FRI 22 MARCH – O2 Academy Birmingham, Birmingham, UK

THU 4 APRIL – SAT 6 APRIL – Out Of Line Weekender 2019, Berlin, Germany
THU 11 JULY – SAT 13 JULY – Bang Your Head!!! 2019, Balingen, Germany
SAT 13 JULY – Area 53 Festival 2019, Leoben, Austria
SUN 14 JULY – Masters Of Rock Festival 2019, Vizovice, Czech Republic
THU 1 AUGUST – SAT 3 AUGUST – Wacken Festival 2019, Wacken, Germany
WED 4 SEPTEMBER – SAT 7 SEPTEMBER – ProgPower USA 2019, Atlanta, GA, US

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Video (audio) for ‘Currents’

Video for ‘Weightless’

Video for ‘A Silent Arc’



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts