‘Barren Cross’ Release First New Album In 18 Years “Birth Pangs”


Barren Cross.2012Christian metal band Barren Cross has released a new live album, which is entitled “Birth Pangs”. Recorded at ‘Elements Of Rock’ in Switzerland, March 2012. This album is Barren Cross first official release since 1994 “Rattle Your Cage”. The album contains 20 songs, including some classic Barren Cross songs but also three new songs.The entire concert was also filmed, the video can be seen below.

“This is one of BC‘s most powerful and important performances ever! “Birth Pangs” exels Barren Cross to new heights. This album is more than exciting, it’s Barren Cross at their finest, a shining moment for them! “Birth Pangs” is not just another album, it’s fantastic!”

Barren Cross lead singer/composer, and original founding member, Michael Drive [Lee] says:

“I personally, have never been as excited over an album in it’s performance as I am with “Birth Pangs”. I would like for every Barren Cross fan to own this, they must hear it. I feel stronger about this concerning “Birth Pangs” than any other album we have ever released!” …. Michael

Barren Cross was formed in Los Angeles, California in 1983 by high school friends Ray Parris [guitar] and Steve Whitaker [drums]. The band released seven albums “Believe” EP [1985], “Rock for the King” [1986], “Atomic Arena” [1988], “State of Control” [1989], “Hotter Than Hell Live!”, [1990],” Rattle Your Cage” [1994], “Birth Pangs” (30 Anniversary Live) [2013].

Musically, Barren Cross is often compared to Iron Maiden, mainly due to the similarity of the vocals between Mike Lee and Maiden frontman Bruce Dickinson. Lyrically, the band is noted for its stance on a number of social issues. Their songs addressed, from a Christian worldview, personal and societal issues such as suicide, abortion, terrorism, and prejudice.

1. Intro
2. Living Dead
3. Stage Of Intensity
4. Close To The Edge
5. The Unsuspecting
6. Two Thousand Years
7. Return Of The Light [NEW SONG]
8. Believe
9. Light The Flame
10. He Loves You
11. Dying Day
12. Bigotry Man
14. Here I Am
15. A Walk With God [NEW SONG] Michael Drive Instrumental
16. Whitewashed Love [NEW SONG]
17. Rattle Your Cage
18. Deadlock
19. Cultic Regimes
20. Killers Of The Unborn

Barren Cross-live at EOR

Upcoming Shows:
Sat, 01-11-2014 @ Rock Harvest Festival, Baltimore, MD USA

Band members:
Michael Drive [Lee] – Lead Vocals, Guitar
Jim LaVerde – Bass, Synth Pedals, Back-up Vocals
Steve Whitaker – Drums, Back-up Vocals
Ray Parris – Lead Guitars, Back-up Vocals

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

 Video below Full Concert at ‘Elements of Rock 2012’

Related Articles:
‘Barren Cross’ To Headline ‘Elements Of Rock’ 2012 [Jan. 2012]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts