Azusa (Feat. Members of Extol, Sea+Air, The Dillinger Escape Plan) to Release Sophomore Album In April, Listen to the First Single ‘Memories Of An Old Emotion’


Azusa (featuring members of The Dillinger Escape PlanExtolSea + Air, and more) have just announced the details of their sophomore album.

The band’s new studio album, “Loop Of Yesterdays“, will be released on April 10th 2020 through Solid State Records in North America and Asia, and through Indie Recordings everywhere else.

For the upcoming album, the band found themselves returning to drummer and producer-engineer David Husvik’s Hawk Studios in Oslo, Norway to record “Loop Of Yesterdays,” which was masterminded by long-time collaborators David Husvik and guitarist Christer Espevoll, and recorded in a series of marathon sessions that started before their previous album even left the pressing plant. The band once again called upon Nick Terry [Serena ManeeshKvelertakTurbonegro] to achieve their ideal mix, a highly polished balance of punch and aggression, giving mastering engineer Jens Bogren [Opeth, At The GatesBetween The Buried And Me] a pitch he could knock out of the park. Intrigued by his ability to exist comfortably in both the jazz and metal world, the band reached out to world-class guitarist Alex Skolnick [Testament] to contribute a shredding guest solo on the track ‘Detach.’

Speaking about the upcoming album, bassist Liam Wilson says, Heavy Yoke was the initial impact, Loop Of Yesterdays is the aftermath.” 

Vocalist Eleni Zafiriadou adds, “the line ‘cannot lose myself in a loop of yesterdays’ was inspired by an eerie dream I had and became a recurring reminder for me. I had been out of focus for a long time that I wanted to get back to reality, to the present.”

Alongside the announcement of the new album, the band have released the first taster from the upcoming album; titled Memories Of An Old Emotion. Speaking about the new song, drummer David Husvik says, Memories Of An Old Emotion is a classic, no-BS Azusa all-over-the-place rifforama. It’s the perfect first single for all the right and wrong reasons.”

Track List:
1. Memories of an Old Emotion
2. One Too Many Times
3. Detach
4. Seven Demons Mary
5. Support Becomes Resistance
6. Monument
7. Loop of Yesterdays
8. Rapture Boy
9. Skull Chamber
10. Kill / Destroy
11. Golden Words
12. Ritual Aching

Preorder here: Indie Recordings / Solid State Records

Listen to ‘Memories Of An Old Emotion’ here.

Preorder Here

Azusa‘ debut album “Heavy Joke” has been released November 16. 2018
Our review can be found here.

Weblinks: Facebook Instagram / Website Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts