‘Alter Bridge’ Guitarist ‘Tremonti’ to Release “Cauterize” Album In May, Album Teaser Available


mark-tremonti-hugeTremonti, the band led by Creed and Alter Bridge guitarist Mark Tremonti, will release its second album, “Cauterize”, in May.

The follow-up to 2012’s “All I Was”, Tremonti‘s new CD was helmed by producer Michael “Elvis” Baskette, who previously worked with Alter Bridge and Slash.

Speaking to the American Forces Network, Tremonti,drummer Garrett Whitlock stated about the band’s new album: ‘We recorded 20 songs for this record, so we’re still trying to figure out what we’re gonna with all of ’em. But I think it stacks up well against the first one.’

‘I really do think that we kind of figured out what our strengths were, recording the first album, and with this album, we kind of took that and capitalized on all of it.’

‘I think, as far as playing goes, everybody was on their ‘A’ game, and we’re really happy with it.’

‘There’s some really good, heavy songs on there; there’s some good atmospheric stuff. So we really tried to just take what we enjoyed about the first record and capitalize on that with the second one. I feel like we hit our mark, and we’re all really happy with the final product.’

Van Halen bassist Wolfgang Van Halen joined Tremonti’s solo band for touring purposes after Alter Bridge bassist Brian Marshall dropped off the project.

With Alter Bridge and Creed both still active, The Pulse Of Radio asked Tremonti a while back how he knows which songs are right for each project. ‘I’ve just gotten this filter, this intuition that tells me what songs go to which band, and with my solo stuff, the rhythm section is so different from the other bands, I think it really stands apart,’ he said. ‘I think it’s a little more aggressive than both the other bands.’

Tremonti recorded “All I Was” using ideas rejected by his Alter Bridge bandmates, who felt some of the material was too “speed metal” for their sound. Tremonti revealed, ‘I tried it with them about 10 times and it would never stick. I didn’t want those ideas to go to waste . . . Now it’s a living, breathing band so we gotta keep it going.’

Our review of “All I Was” can be found here.

Tremonti’s other act, Alter Bridge, released its fourth album, called “Fortress”, in 2013.

The track listing for “Cauterize” is as follows:

01. Radical Change
02. Flying Monkeys
03. Cauterize
04. Arm Yourself
05. Dark Trip
06. Another Heart
07. Fall Again
08. Tie The Noose
09. Sympathy
10. Providence

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter / Website

Video below ‘Cauterize’ (Album Teaser)

Related Articles:
Tremonti – “All I Was” [review]
Alter Bridge – “Fortress” [review]
‘Alter Bridge’ To Release “Live In Milan” In June, Trailer Available, New European Tour Dates [March 2014]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts