Sevendust – “Kill the flaw”


sevendustkilltheflawcd_345Sevendust is an American alternative metal band rioting up in Atlanta, Georgia, and a couple of new places ( Go check out their official webpage! ). Formed during the post grunge Era, this band became one of the rising acts in the 1990’s. The band experiments with its sound, the guitars are dropped to low keys, electronic elements filling the transitions between the verses and crunchy rhythms which makes you want to jump. The drum fills are always complementary to the guitar riffs.

Their sound has a mix of distorted heavy metal riffs clubbed with a grunge sound that sets this band apart from the rest. Their vocalist, Lajon Witherspoon, adds a distinct voice to this band, and drives the song’s direction. His voice has the intensity and power that can be felt while listening to Max Cavelera, no wonder this band lists Ministry, Anthrax, Twisted Sister and Sepultura as some of its influences.

Sevendust self-produced and released their tenth Studio album, Kill the Flaw, on October 2nd 2015 giving distribution to ADA/Warner Brothers. This album was recorded at the Architekt Music studio in Butler, New Jersey. The band has also released a lyric video for the Song Not Today, and was nominated for the 2016 Grammy awards for the song Thank you.

The album opens up with Thank you, this song stuns you with its clean intro and gradually grooves into heavier shreds on the guitar (dropped down), deep vocals that add to the songs melancholy melody, the intermittent yet eventual growls making it a great song, hooking you to the album for more. The same formula is repeated for the songs, Death Dance and Silly beast. Letters, on the other hand can be listed down as the album’s modern day ballad.

During the course of the album, Sevendust saved some good surprises with the likes of Forget, Peace and Destruction, Torched, and Kill the flaw which not only are powerful songs, but their catchy chorus makes you want to sing along out loud too. The guitar solos captivates your interest, takes you sky high and gives a vertigo rush.

Now for songs which will swing you off your feet and at the same time elevate you to outer space, deserving a standing ovation and repetitive repeats are Chop, Cease and Desist and my personal favorite Not today. With these songs up their sleeve and under their command, they can captivate and hypnotize any audience, show casing their true prowess and why they will steal the show, Always!

Production – The high and middle tones on the album are sharp, leaving very little space for the low tones to be heard. The sound feels a little dry and could have been accentuated with pumping up a little bass.

Conclusion – Should you buy this Album? I would recommend you to. The album has all the elements that make it a great listen. Do they offer something interesting? They definitely do, there is so much more than can be discovered at first. This album has a strong message and an even stronger emotion that it relays to its listeners.

Rating: 8/10

Written by: Ankit Sood

01. Thank You
02. Death Dance
03. Forget
04. Letters
05. Cease And Desist
06. Not Today
07. Chop
08. Kill The Flaw
09. Silly Beast
10. Peace And Destruction
11. Torched

Band Members:
Lajon Witherspoon – lead vocals
Clint Lowery – lead guitar, backing vocals
John Connolly – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Vinnie Hornsby – bass guitar
Morgan Rose – drums, backing vocals

Record Label: 7Bros. Records, Oct. 2015

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Buy the album here:
Holland: First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Video below: ‘Not Today’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts