Betraying The Martyrs – “Phantom”


BTM - Phantom Betraying The Martyrs is a symphonic deathcore band with metalcore influences from Paris, France. The band’s name is a reference to betraying those people who try to make this world a better place. It is about kicking them in the teeth whenever they get something wrong. The band formed in December 2008, with their first EP “The Hurt, The Divine, The Light” being released in November 2009. There were some big changes in 2010 when the singer and a guitarist left the band. In a bold move, they brought in Aaron Matts (vocals) from England. The band signed with Sumerian Records in North America and Listenable Records for worldwide distribution of their full-length album ‘Breathe In Life’ (September 2011). This saw them make a huge impact throughout North America by touring relentlessly and appearing on RockStar Mayhem Fest and AllStars. Their new release is ‘Phantom’.

Aaron Matts states: “This new record started coming to life out on the road, during our very first U.S. tour, whereas Breathe In Life was written back at home. Writing on the road helped us capture the efficiency and the energy of a live show, whilst we were all submerged in it. With this album we took everything from Breathe in Life and pushed it, expanded it, explored it and learned from it. Phantom is the sound of the things we have gone through together, the places we have been and the experiences we have had. We’ve had the pleasure to tour with iconic bands, such as Slipknot and Slayer and to have met great people in all corners of the world, so we are proud to say that we have learned from all we have lived. Thanks to all this, our music has evolved in the same way that we have as people and this is what we are most excited about sharing with you all. With Phantom we have taken everything further than we could have ever imagined and we’re beyond excited to bring it to the masses.”

The album bursts forth with aggressive riffing and Aaron Matt’s guttural growling on ‘Jigsaw’, which then moves towards metalcore with clean vocals and attempts to meld these two forces together. “We lay the pieces our own way / We sail with wind behind us and chase the sun away / We lay the pieces our own way / We sail with wind behind us…behind us”. It is notable that the vocals have been overlaid with distortion.

‘Where The World Ends’ takes an atmospheric approach before raining down with pent-up fury. This is followed by the symphonic ‘Walk Away’ which has more orchestral elements underpinned by synth alongside sections of pummelling drums and technical riffing. Then its time to strip away the sugar-coating of Disney’s ‘Let It Go’ as they romp through it with a flurry of guitars.

There is a melodic interlude in ‘L’abysse Des Anges’ before the juggernaut of ‘Phantom (Fly Away)’ featuring guest vocals from Gus Farias of Volumes as they state “Pick me up and carry me away / I’ll never look back – won’t waste another of my days here / So carry me away”. The tempo increases in ‘What’s Left of You’ before another interlude in ‘Afterlife’.

‘Legends Never Die’ throws more electronica harmonies into the sonic barrage and ‘Lighthouse’ bristles with intensity as the guitar-work picks up a blistering pace. There is a third interlude in ‘Your Throne’. But they come out blazing on ‘Our Kingdom’ and declare “As a family we all stand / Look into my eyes give me your hand / I’ll pick you up whenever you’re down / When you’re down”. Finally, ‘Closure Found’ sees them striving onwards and upwards.

There are albums that you instantly like, whilst there are those that gradually grow on you. This album falls into the latter category as they throw multiple influences into their deathcore and metalcore mix.

Rating: 7/10

Reviewed by Peter John Willoughby

Where The World Ends
Walk Away
Let It Go
L’abysse Des Anges
Phantom (Fly Away) (feat. Gus Farias of Volumes)
What’s Left of You
Legends Never Die
Your Throne
Our Kingdom
Closure Found

Band members:
Aaron Matts : Vocals
Victor Guillet : Keyboards & clean vocals
Baptiste Vigier – Guitar
Lucas D’angelo – Guitar
Valentin Hauser – Bass
Mark Mironov – Drums

“The Hurt the Divine the Light” EP  (2009)
“Breathe in Life” (2011)
“Phantom” (2014)

Record Label: Sumerian Records, July 2014

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter

Buy the album here:
Holland: First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Interview with Baptiste Vigier (Sept. 2012)

Video below ‘Let It Go’

Video below ‘Where The World Ends’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts