Underøath – Anthology 1999-2013


Underoath-Anthology-1999-2013They are no longer … October 2012 Underoath made known to call it a day and they were to say goodbye to the fans via a farewell tour and a career-spanning compilation album.

If there is one thing that ‘Anthology 1999-2013’ does, it is providing an overview of the entire career of the band as well as illuminating the musical development of Underoath. In the early years the band made quirky metalcore with hardcore, black, death and math metal influences, to a more melodic metalcore sound, screamo, emocore, the band finally ended up with fluent rock/post-hardcore tracks. The rich colours of their sound are wonderfully displayed through this overview.

The album opens with two new tracks “Sunburnt ‘and’ Unsound’, followed by the most recent work and descended backwards in time through all the ‘hits’ to the first tracks. The two new songs continue on the sound that the songs of their most recent album “Ø (Disambiguation)’ offered. They are about ambience and experimentation; especially the latter has played a vital role throughout the whole of Underoaths’ career. All albums are represented by at least two tracks, expect for the early albums (‘Act Of Depression’, ‘Cries Of The Past’ and ‘The Changing of Times’). Their representation is very lean with only one track per album. Quite a pity, for although the tracks may be somewhat out of place compared to the most recent work, its’ quirky, experimental content makes them interesting. Just listen to the beautiful Cries Of The Past’. The presence of ‘I’ve Got Ten Friends and a Crowbar That Says You Is Not Gonna Do Jack’, which was nothing else than just a bonus track of the special edition from ‘They’re Only Chasing Safety’, is a remarkable but interesting choice. The band could have gone for just another regular track from the album. Nevertheless: what remains is a nice overview of a total of seventeen tracks, which do each album justice.

At the 26th of January 2013 Underoath has played their final show. All that remains for the fans are the good memories, the pile of albums and this overview for consolation.

Rating: 80/100

Written by Patrick

Track list:
1. Sunburnt
2. Unsound
3. In Division
4. Catch Myself Catching Myself
5. Paper Lung
6. Desperate Times, Desperate Measures
7. Too Bright To See, Too Loud To Hear
8. In Regards To Myself
9. You’re Ever So Inviting
10. Writing On The Walls
11. A Boy Brushed Red Living In Black And White
12. Reinventing Your Exit
13. It’s Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door
14. I’ve Got Ten Friends And A Crowbar That Says You Ain’t Gonna Do Jack
15. When The Sun Sleeps
16. Cries Of The Past
17. Heart Of Stone

Band Members:
Spencer Chamberlain – vocals
Dallas Taylor – vocals
Tim McTague – guitar, backing vocals
Corey Steger – guitar, backing vocals
James Smith – guitar
Octavio Fernandez – guitar, bass
Grant Brandell – bass guitar
William Nottke – bass guitar
Matt Clark – bass guitar
Daniel Davison – drums
Aaron Gillespie – drums, vocals
Chris Dudley – keyboards, synthesizers

Record Label: Solid State Records, Nov. 2012

Act of Depression [1999]
Cries of the Past [2000]
The Changing of Times [2002]
They’re Only Chasing Safety [2004]
Define the Great Line [2006]
Lost in the Sound of Separation [2008]
Live at Koko [2010]
Ø (Disambiguation) [2010]
Anthology 1999-2013 [2012]

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Twitter

Buy the album here:
 First Paradox 
 Nordic Mission

Video below for: Sunburnt

Video below for: When The Sun Sleeps

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts