Swinery – “Swinery” (EP)


Swinery_20FRONT900_originalFor those who can only handle grindcore in small doses, the debut ep by Swinery may be just the thing for you as there are 11 songs, clocking in under 8 minutes total.

Information is somewhat limited but it appears that Swinery is a solo project by Dustin James Higginbotham who also works as an artist.  The first track from an upcoming full length Swinery album has just been posted, but no release date or other information is available.

The ep opens up with “Narrative” that is a “spoken” word track accompanied by ominous keyboards and true to form within the genre, even the spoken word is difficult to understand.  “Horrors” starts out with a synthesized bell tolling and then some chaotic screaming amid some pounding riff that bleeds into “Sacrificed”, a song where the music abruptly ends after a few seconds.  This general theme carries through to the rest of the ep.  Songs like “Headless” do contain some ultra-fast blast beats and other grind/death guitars and screaming but the music is just short snippets of a few second bursts here and there.  An eerie atmosphere prevails throughout and the listening experience is much like walking through a haunted house as you are just waiting for the chaos to ensue.  For fans of the genre, some of these snippets hold great promise and makes one wonder how they would be if they were full tracks.

Rating: 6/10

Written by John Jackson

01. Narrative
02. Horrors
03. Sacrificed
04. Headless
05. Crooked
06. Awry
07. Dead
08. Hades
09. Scion
10. Vital
11. Swine

Band Members
Dustin James Higginbotham – all music and vocals

Record Label: Sky Burns Black Records, June 2015

Weblinks: Bandcamp / Facebook

Buy the album here:
First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts