Silent Voices – “Reveal The Change”


SilentVoices_artwork_0 Silent Voices is a progressive metal band from Finland. The band was founded in 1995 by Timo Kauppinen (guitar), Pasi Kauppinen (bass), Jukka-Pekka Koivisto (drums) and Henrik Klingenberg (keyboards). The initial line-up was completed when vocalist Michael Henneken joined. At the time their main influences were Dream Theater and Rush. The band released several EP’s before their full-length albums ‘Chapters of Tragedy’ (2002), ‘Infernal’ (2004) and ‘Building Up The Apathy’ (2006). When Michael Henneken left the band, they went on hiatus.

Their fourth album ‘Reveal The Change’ (2013) sees the original members joined by a variety of guest lead & background vocalists. There is Mats Levén (Therion, Yngwie Malmsteen), Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica), Mike Vescera (Loudness, Yngwie Malmsteen), Mike DiMeo (Riot, Masterplan) and Teemu Koskela (Winterborn).

In fact, Teemu was recently announced as their new vocalist. It is also worth mentioning that Henrik Klingenberg has been a member of Sonata Arctica since 2002 and Pasi Kauppinen also recently joined them too.

The new album was recorded and mixed at Studio57 [Sonata Arctica, Revolution Renaissance] in Alaveteli, Finland and mastered by Ted Jensen [Bon Jovi, Ghost, Megadeth] at Sterling Sound, New York, NY.

The first few seconds of ‘The Fear Of Emptiness’ opens in an understated way, but soon builds to a searing guitar riff with a huge hook that won’t let go. It is underpinned by a muscular rhythm section and lush keyboards with Teemu’s power vocals. “Once I was afraid to live / now I’m so afraid to fade away / Once I had something to give / but I fell into the shades of gray”. It clocks in at 9 minutes long and is outstanding for its depth and quality. So much so, that I find myself repeatedly listening to its ebb and flow.

After such a strong contender, it could have overshadowed their next offering as they slowly meander into ‘No Turning Back’. But that’s before Mats Levén takes the vocal helm with a smouldering intensity and Timo starts riffing. “Heaven or hell behind these walls / the future unseen / no turning back once I open the doors / and wear a different skin / heaven and hell suppressing me / tomorrow’s unkind / the devil is lurking in my dreams / and I am getting weak”

In ‘Reign Of Terror’ there is serious guitar shredding immediately followed by a deft keyboard solo that dominates the proceedings. It has a shorter lyrical approach and Mike Vescera’s vibrato and soaring range seems underused after the half-way mark. Then it’s the turn of Tony Kakko (Sonata Arctica) in the sparkling ‘Faith In Me’ as he wails “How can you say you believe / when you have no faith in me / how can you say there’s no fear / when you won’t let me free”.

They give the vocalists a break as they take turns to wig out in ‘Black Water’. The bass intro on ‘Burning Shine’ lulls you into a false sense of security before the staccato riffing. It is notable for the changes in pace and Mats Levén makes another terrific appearance. “Everywhere I go / I know I have lost the path / Living life this way / going nowhere /
Every time I see the light / something disappears / I’m broken in the end / but I still pretend”.

You may be wondering why there are only seven tracks on this album. And the answer is that ‘Through My Prison Walls’ is within a whisker of reaching twelve minutes. This is deceptive in places as it almost seems to run out of steam, before launching off with fresh vigour. It makes full use of Mike DiMeo’s emotive vocals and is an epic tour-de-force.

Whilst the definition of progressive music is often debated, this album holds all the key elements. It is awash with epic songs, sophisticated instrumentation and superior vocals.

Rating: 8.5/10

Reviewed by Peter John Willoughby

1. The Fear Of Emptiness
2. No Turning Back
3. Reign Of Terror
4. Faith In Me
5. Black Water
6. Burning Shine
7. Through My Prison Walls

Record Label: Inner Wound Recordings, Nov. 2013

Band members:
Timo Kauppinen – Guitar
Henrik Klingenberg [Sonata Arctica] – Keyboards
Pasi Kauppinen [Sonata Arctica] – Bass
Jukka-Pekka Koivisto – Drums
Teemu Koskela [Winterborn] – Vocals

Weblinks: Website / Facebook

Buy the album here:
First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission
USA: Metal Helm

Video below “Reveal the Change” Album Teaser


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts