Soundmass to Release ‘Mortification’ – “Post Momentary Affliction” & “Ancient Prophecy/Overseer”on Vinyl, Pre Order Now


Soundmass (Australia) recently announced two upcoming Mortification vinyl releases:

“Post Momentary Affliction”

Continuing with our chronological release of Mortification albums on vinyl, Soundmass are happy to announce the upcoming LP release of their 1993 album “Post Momentary Affliction”. After the pounding death/grind of 1992’s “Scrolls of the Megilloth”, this album seems Mortification returning to their thrash roots, but with a refinement and creativity which would see this recording considered a classic. With the influences of Manowar and Iron Maiden on display, we’re treated to a feast of incredible thrash and speed metal that is laced with death metal. Complex songwriting, precise riffing, masterful bass playing, phenomenal drumming, intelligent lyrics delivered in a fresh death growl/thrash shout style, all captured with clear and clean production. Recognised by many critics as an innovative album, and arguably seeing this trio crafting songs at their artistic peak, “Post Momentary Affliction” is distinctly Mortification and showcases everything fans love about this band.

Remastered for vinyl and with the original cover art re-created from scratch by drummer Jayson Sherlock, this vinyl edition is a must for fans of this pioneering Aussie band and any true metal aficionado. Included is an insert containing lyrics, credits and photos.


Side A
Allusions From The Valley Of Darkness
From The Valley Of Shadows
Human Condition
Distarnish Priest

Side B
Black Lion Of The Mind
Grind Planetarium
Pride Sanitarium
This Momentary Affliction
Flight Of Victory
Liquid Assets
Vital Fluids
The Sea Of Forgetfullness

Ancient Prophecy/Overseer

Due to demand, Soundmass is releasing this limited edition Mortification 10” vinyl, titled Ancient Prophecy/Overseer, to supplement our vinyl versions of “Scrolls Of The Megilloth” and “Post Momentary Affliction.” Due to vinyl length restrictions, the song ‘Ancient Prophecy’ was left off the “Scrolls Of The Megilloth” vinyl and ‘Overseer’ was left off the “Post Momentary Affliction” vinyl, with these songs clocking in at almost 12 minutes and 10 minutes respectively. If that was not enough, to give you over 30 minutes of enjoyment, we have also included the Mortification studio songs ‘Time Crusaders’ (from the Godspeed: Australian Metal Compilation of 1994) and ‘Butchered Mutilation’ (from the 5 Years Nuclear Blast compilation of 1993).

Side A

Ancient Prophecy
Time Crusaders

Side B

Butchered Mutilation


Mortification‘s 16th and FINAL album “Realm Of The Skelataur” has been released on March 9, 2015 through Rowe Productions.

Our review of “Realm Of The Skelataur” can be found here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts