Goatscorge – “Marching Against the Evil One”


Goatscorge lays waste to eardrums with a black metal/grind/noise onslaught on what appears to be their first full length release.

About all I can tell you about Goatscorge is that it is a solo project that has its origins in Russellville, Alabama.  On their Bandcamp, everything was posted in 2019, so the artist has been a bit prolific.  Beside a couple of singles, one could call Awaiting the Apocalypse an ep with Marching Against the Evil One being the first full-length.

In terms of style, one can expect noise, black, ambient, and grindcore elements within the various songs on Marching Against the Evil One.  The album opens up with some distorted background noise with some organ playing way off in the distance on “An End to All the is Unholy” an d at this point, I had no idea what was coming.  “Marching Against the Evil One” is the first real track on the album and it opens up with some incredibly distorted instruments playing and the deep growled, unintelligible vocals, with the song as a whole sounding much like a cd was skipping and being played through a poor quality boombox on full volume.

“Angel of Death” is the first song on the album that has a discernible guitar riff but that quickly fades into the noise as other instruments come in.  After the opening track it became apparent that production quality was not something aimed for, and although there appears to be fairly substantial lyrical content based on the bandcamp page, there’s no way to tell that in the songs.“Laying the Foundation of Eternity” starts out again with a discernible guitar riff that is quickly drowned out by the sheer volume of noise when the other instruments come in.  The album fittingly ends similar to as it began, with a recording of some distorted random noise.

Albums like this are tough to review unless this is your thing.  The audience for this, I’m guessing, will be quite narrow and might enjoy this.  If you’re not into ambient noise/black/grindcore recorded with low quality, you might want to look elsewhere but to be sure, check out the songs on the bandcamp page, because you never know what might catch your ear.

Rating: 5/10

Written by John Jackson

1. An End to All that is Unholy            
2. Marching Against The Evil One     
3. 10,000 Fake Christians in Hell         
4. Angel of Death    
5. Wrathful Vengeance        
6. The Shattered Grace of God         
7. Casting Out Demonic Filth              
8. Laying the Foundation of Eternity               
9. Tearing Apart False Doctrine         
10. War Cult Armageddon   
11. Bones of the Unrepentant

Band Members
Nocturnal Servant – all instruments, vocals

Release Date: Nov. 15th. 2019

Record Label: Bearded Dragon Productions

Weblinks: Facebook / Bandcamp

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts