All Things Fallen – S/T


The thrill at hearing the organ run, bolstered by sawtoothed synths followed by the guitars, bass and drums crashing in is visceral. The guitars, at first glassy unleash a threatening growl before all is pulled back to foreground the voice. All Things Fallen is the brainchild of Markus Sigfridsson, guitarist for Sweden’s Darkwater, and on this album he also fills out the melodic progressive metal sound with contributions on bass, keyboards/programming and vocals. This is not a one man show; All Things Fallen benefits from the vocal talents of Erik Tordsson (End of September) and the rhythmic powerhouse that is Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation) on drums.

The sound is full, melodic and powerful and the songwriters ponder the dystopian present, poignantly illustrated by the spoken word samples scattered throughout the songs. These spoken word samples appear well-researched, as they dialogue – in documentary-like fashion – with Tordsson’s lyrics. “Ex Nihilo” is a good example in this regard.

The musicians pay careful attention to varying the sonic intensity within songs, sometimes pausing (like the cliffhanger before the ensuing madness) before leaping to a new progression. They also show a knack for setting atmospheres, like “When Your Heroes Fall” demonstrates. It is the song heralding the end of times: “When the heroes fall, the truth will set us free.” A Christian lens magnifies social injustice and calls believers once again to take heed of the plight of those that are downtrodden: “Our broken souls have a need for external confirmation”. More still, individuals are searching out a spiritual truth – something attainable only through contemplation. As “Introspection” finishes, I am left with a sense of melancholy.

I encourage you to experience the artistry of this self-titled debut, and may it also strike a chord in you.

“All Things Fallen” scores 10/10

Written by Karakul

Track list:
01. I Wait for You 4:58
02. Mirages 6:09
03. In The Divide 7:30
04. Ex Nihilo 6:20
05. When Your Heroes Fall 5:37
06. Introspection 9:15

Band members:
Markus Sigfridsson – Guitars, Bass, Backing Vocals, Lead vocals, Keyboards/Programming
Erik Tordsson – Lead Vocals
Leo Margarit – Drums

Studio albums/EPs:
“All Things Fallen” (full-length)

Release Date: May 1st. 2019

Record label: Blackoak Records

Weblinks: Facebook

Pre-order the cd here

Buy the album here:
Holland: First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Video for ‘In The Divide’


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts