Celldweller “Wish Upon A Blackstar” (Remix Contest Compilation) Out Now


Celldweller‘s sophomore album, “Wish Upon A Blackstar,” carried the torch of Klayton‘s monumental vision of creating long-form albums, and lead to an explosive increase of worldwide fans. Garnering editorial and sales/charting success, the album also continued another Celldweller trend – inspiring a multitude of remixes from both veteran and up-and-coming artists, producers and remixers, through a series of FiXT hosted remix competitions. Previously receiving only limited releases through various song-based compilations over the years, the Celldweller / FiXT team is proud to announce an official ‘best-of’ Wish Upon A Blackstar remix contest compilation releasing Summer 2018. Many of these remixes will be making their first appearance on streaming platforms such as Spotify, Apple Music, Deezer and TIDAL.

Whether you remember some of these remixes from years past or you’re experiencing them for the first time – sit back and enjoy some of your favorite Wish Upon A Blackstar songs re-mixed and re-imagined! Discover or re-discover remixes from The Magic Puppet, Drop, Voicians, The Luna Sequence, Jay Ray, Paul Udarov, Ryle, RIOT 87, and many more.

1. So Long Sentiment (The Magic Puppet Remix) 07:09
2. Louder Than Words (Voicians Remix) 05:01
3. I Can’t Wait (Shellshock Remix) 02:46
4. The Lucky One (Drop Remix) 03:56
5. Gift For You (Okiru Remix) 05:32
6. Louder Than Words (Ryle Remix) 05:33
7. Eon (Paul Udarov Remix) 03:56
8. So Long Sentiment (Maniac All-Stars Remix) 05:55
9. Louder Than Words (Brian Skeel Remix) 04:43
10. Tainted (Spektralisk Remix) 05:09
11. I Can’t Wait (Jay Ray Remix) 03:51
12. The Lucky One (Voicians Remix) 04:48
13. Louder Than Words (The Luna Sequence Remix) 05:14
14. Eon (Drop Remix) 04:08
15. Louder Than Words (DNA Remix) 06:46
16. So Long Sentiment (Paul Udarov Remix) 05:31
17. I Can’t Wait (RIOT 87 Remix) 04:40
18. Louder Than Words (Orchestral Mix by Martin Harp) 03:26

Purchase / Stream

Celldweller is a Detroit, Michigan-based Industrial music project by multi-musician Klayton. Klayton creates a hybrid fusion of digital and organic elements: designed soundscapes that take cues from electronic genres like drum and bass, electro, and dubstep, woven together with aggressive rock/metal and orchestral elements. Celldweller songs have been featured in many films, movie trailers, television shows and video games.

The name Celldweller was derived from a nickname his mother gave him when he was a teenager, dubbed “Cellar Dweller”, as he made all of his music in his parents’ cellar. Klayton had gained a devoted cult following in the mid 90s because of his industrial metal band Circle of Dust. After the dissolution of Circle of Dust, Klayton concurrently released both a posthumous collection of reworked Circle of Dust leftovers titled Disengage and an album for a new project, Angeldust, created in conjunction with illusionist Criss Angel. Both albums demonstrated Klayton‘s shift away from industrial metal and towards more electronic-modern industrial rock influences, incorporating richer electronic instrumentation and greater emphasis on melody. This change in style was a major step toward the sound that would come to define Celldweller‘s output. Klayton began creating songs for the Celldweller project in 1998/1999 and released a limited edition EP of three early Celldweller demos and two solo trance tracks, which quickly sold out. Klayton and Criss Angel parted ways in 2000 after three albums’ worth of material had been completed, allowing Klayton to devote all of his time to Celldweller.

Weblinks: Facebook / Bandcamp / Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts