Behold The Kingdom – The Eyes Of The Wicked Will Fail


Behold The Kingdom is an american death metal / deathcore outfit that formed in 2009. Its members are Joseph Bellmer (vocals), Derrik Young (guitar), Mark Baker (bass), Riley Snyder (guitar) and Cliff DeWeese (drums). They released their debut album ‘The Eyes Of The Wicked Will Fail’ (2011) through Rottweiler Records. Their sound has been compared to Impending Doom, Living Sacrifice, The Famine, and The Black Dahlia Murder.

They open with the Lord’s Prayer as the noise level slowly builds in the background. Then its hell-for-leather drumming, metalcore riffing and deep growling in ‘Redemption’ with “I am blessed though my trials are many / I will see the full glory of my God / My redeemer lives, he will rise on the dust / My flesh is destroyed, but I will see my God”. The main feature of deathcore is that it includes breakdowns and blast beats as well as death metal riffing. One of the standout tracks is ‘El Shaddai’ due to the time changes, variety of breakdowns and biblical proclamations “Darkness over the kingdom of the beast / Behold, he comes like a thief / To expose the naked and shamed / Blessed are those with the seal on there face”. There is a melodic interlude before the final battering blows and technical riffing of ‘The Valley Of Elah’ as they declare “Behold The Kingdom of the dead that rise again / rise again / Brothers, come and stand your ground / Become what you have been made for”.

Most of the songs are around the three minute mark, which makes for a punchy sonic barrage. The production is crunchy, yet still retains that gritty quality needed for this type of delivery. Alongside the brutal and aggressive nature of the music, Behold The Kingdom brings their own brand of hope and salvation to this genre.

Rating: 8/10

Reviewed by Peter John Willoughby

We Are Zion (Prayer Of The Messiah)
Sown In Dishonor
Living Hope
El Shaddai
The Suffering Servant
Cut You Down
Prideful Demise
Fall Of The Philistines
The Valley Of Elah

Joseph Bellmer-Vocals
Derrik Young-Guitar
Mark Baker-Bass
Sebastian Salinas-Drums
Riley Snyder-Guitar

Record Label: Rottweiler Records / 2011

Weblinks: Myspace / Facebook / Twitter


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts