Those Who Fear – “State of Mind”


Those Who Fear is a Christian hardcore band from Pittsburgh, PA. Founded in 2005 and since 2013 signed to Facedown records. On this label they released two full-length albums “Unholy Anger” and “Death Sentence”. Now they have released their sophomore album “State of Mind” which came out on December 9, 2016. Let’s take a closer look/listen to this album and see/hear what Those Who Fear has managed to deliver to us.

The first track is also the title track ‘State of Mind’. This song could also be seen as an intro, a rather long intro that is. Heavy and crushing as we are so used to by this band. This song flows fluently into the next track ‘Driven’. And boy, what a progression Those Who Fear made. The first two albums were great in their own way but sometimes a bit monotone. They have dealt with that criticism by adding more variety to their songs and riffs. One special surprise is that guest-vocals are done by Garret Russel of Silent Planet.

‘Better Off’ rages forth with the same energy but also has some up-tempo parts.  The track ‘Ten Years’ begins surprisingly with melodic guitar-work. This is repeated every time at the chorus and at the part where you know that the obvious breakdown hits they still know how to blow you out of your chair.

At the beginning of ‘U.S.F.’ he screams: “America, this one is for you!!” Well I hope that it also is for the rest of the world. The ongoing riff in ‘Death of Free Thought’ is preventing you from standing still. It will get you moving, even if you are not a dancer. This has to be a great live track.

‘Lost’ is the seventh track where the chorus is as catchy as it can be if you keep in mind that TWF is always heavy, even in the clean parts. The cleans are sung with an edge, I love it, they should do it more. It fits in the hardcore way of singing.

The next track ‘Heretic’ is so heavy but also up-tempo. This song also features Tommy Green of Sleeping Giant. What a great asset he is. He truly contributes a depth to this song with his own unique way of singing.

The ninth song ‘My Father’s Son’ is a typical TWF track, heavy as …..

Then we already have reached the last song ‘TWF Nation’. Still going strong and heavy. Gang vocals scream “hey hey hey” in a way that is not irritating, because sometimes it is just too much. But here it fits like a glove.

Having listened to this album a few times now I am overwhelmed by the heaviness of it all. But yet they have managed to keep it fresh. The first two albums were, as I said, great albums but a third album in the same way would be a bit too much of the same.

State of Mind is a mind-blowing and heavy hardcore album which has all the elements that make Those Who Fear who they are. Their sound is so recognisable but in a new and original way. I can recommend this album wholeheartedly.

Rating: 8/10

Written by: René Woning

01. State Of Mind
02. Driven (feat. Garrett Russell)
03. Better Off
04. Ten Years
05. U.S.F.
06. Death Of Free Thought
07. Lost
08. Heretic (feat. Tommy Green)
09. My Father’s Son
10. TWF Nation

Band members:
John Healy (Vocals)
Jacob Wilder (Drums)
Luke Healy (Guitar)
Caleb DeRusha (Guitar)

“Unholy Anger” (2013)
“Death Sentence” (2014)
“State of Mind” (2016)

Record label: Facedown Records, December, 2016

Weblinks: Facebook / Twitter / Spotify

Buy the album here:
Holland: First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Video for ‘Driven’

Video for ‘Ten Years’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts