Exhale – “When Worlds Collide”


Exhale - When Worlds CollideExhale was founded in the summer 2004 by guitarist Johan and drummer Gustav. Since both had been raised with Brutal Truth, Napalm Death, Nasum and Entombed and other similar grindcore-acts they went with the concept “grind is the shit, let’s make some”.

“When Worlds Collide” is their 3rd album, released on the 18th of November 2013. The album consists of 14 tracks, most of them short in length (specific to the Grindcore genre), with one exception, the last song “Left Inside. Exhale have improved their sound quality while maintaining or even increasing the amount of brutality and rawness.

The album starts of with “Wrath Unleashed” and “Avsky” two brutal songs with where Gustav shows his drumming skills. “Apocalypse” and “Machinera” are great songs, with some fine guitar arrangements. The song “Barriers Of Blood” is one of the few times when it feels like Exhale decided to give the listener a break, with it’s dirge-moving, bass-driven mid-section-to-the-end. “Wrath Unleashed” to “Machinery”, with “Avsky” and “Apocalypse” in between, gives you almost zero room to breath. “Monuments of the Dead”  and “Etiketter” are not as fast as the others but has great drums and guitar riffs and sounds more like deathcore. “Glorify the Dumb” is another explosion of brutality, fast and furious, with excellent vocals just as  “In This Valley” which starts of with a great guitar riff . The album closes out with  “Left Inside”,  a song that proves Exhale is capable of escaping the usual short but brutal Grindcore song sphere.

Exhale have improved their sound quality while maintaining or even increasing the amount of brutality and rawness. They  are all very good musicians and know how to play fast and precise on their instruments.So if you are fan of Nasum or Rotten Sound, give “When Worlds Collide” a listen because it is one interesting grindcore album.

Rating: 7,5/10

Written by “Stingray”

01 Wrath Unleashed
02 Avsky
03 Apocalypse
04 Machinera
05 Barriers Of Blood
06 Monuments Of The Dead
07 Concealed Within
08 Till Slakt
09 Glorify The Dumb
10 Vigilante
11 In This Valley
12 Etiketter
13 Illusions
14 Left Inside

Band members:
Martin Brzezinski -Vocals
Johan Wold Ylenstrand – Guitar
Andreas Allenmark -Guitar
Johan Fogelberg – Bass
Gustav Elowson – Drums

“Prototype” (2006)
“Blind” (2010)
“When worlds collide” (2013)

Record Label: Pulverised Records, May 2013

Weblinks: Facebook  / Website

Buy the album here:
First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission
Metal Helm

Video below ‘Wrath Unleashed’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts