Evanescence – Evanescence


Five long years is the period the fans of Evanescence had to wait for a new album. Such a long period of waiting ensures that the expectations at forehand are very high. Two months before the release of the album the band came up with the single ‘What You Want’; the responses among music lovers was mixed. There were people who really liked the track, but many people labeled it as ‘too poppy’. What if I tell you that that single might even be one of the most appealing tracks on the album?

The sound at ‘Evanescence’ has moved even further away from their success album ‘Fallen’ (2003) than their previous record ‘Open Door’ (2006) already did. Symphonic pop, with some symphonic rock in the background, has gotten the upper hand and gothic rock is just a pernickety element. The key instruments on the new album are the keyboard and the vocals, with all twelve tracks thriving on sensitivity. The vocals of Amy lee are full in the spotlight: not really surprising when you know what she can deliver (‘Oceans’). But that should not automatically equal flat, trifling compositions, boring drum work and guitars, which are pushed back in the mix. Only ‘End Of The Dream’ and ‘Never Go back’ seems to start heavy, but within moments the guitar riffs have been replaced with piano lines. Lee herself may claim that some songs (e.g. ‘The Other Side’, ‘End Of The Dream’) hold chunky guitars and double bass drum, but that is not what I hear.

‘Evanescence’ seems to suffer from creative anemia… and given the rapid rate at which the band has slipped in recent years, I wonder aloud where this will end. I strongly recommend the people who still like the band to wait with the purchase of the album: ‘Evanescence’ most likely will be on sale within no time.

Rating: 35/100

Written by Patrick

Track list:
1. What You Want
2. Made Of Stone
3. The Change
4. My Heart Is Broken
5. The Other Side
6. Erase This
7. Lost In Paradise
8. Sick
9. End Of The Dream
10. Oceans
11. Never Go back
12. Swimming Home

Amy Lee – lead vocals, keyboard, harp
Terry Balsamo – lead guitar
Troy McLawhorn – rhythm guitar
Tim McCod – bass guitar
Will Hunt – drums

Record Label: Wind Up Records / November 2011

Weblinks: Website / Facebook / Myspace / Twitter


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts