Attalus – “Into The Sea”


INTO THE SEA (SMALL)I usually do the hard/metalcore reviews for The Metal Resource and this music is also my main interest. But when a record label like ‘Facedown Records’ signes a band like Attalus, you are sometimes faced with the task to write a review which is out of your comfort zone. Luckily I call myself a music lover and I want to stand open for every style. I have my limits though. But Indie-Rock should probably be no problem, so let’s give it a try:

Attalus is a band from Raleigh, NC. They released their debut EP “The Greater Tide” in December 2010. Known for their passionate live performances, they played with bands like Switchfoot, Thousand Foot Krutch, The Rocket Summer, Anberlin, Wolves At The Gate and many more.

They went on to release two independentfull length albums; “Post Tenebras Lux” in 2011 and “Gospel Hymns, Vol. 1” in 2013. The sound on the latter one showcased a completely different sound of their music. Also 100% of the proceeds of that album was going to 7 Billion Reasons (, a global non-profit organization that desires to help provide spiritual and physical support to orphans in Busia, Uganda. Doing this, they raised more than $10,000 for the orphans in Uganda.

During the next two years , Attalus began writing a 16-song concept album which we know now is “Into The Sea”. They worked with Mike Watts (As Cities Burn, As Tall As Lions) at Vudu Studio in Port Jefferson, NY. As the band states themselves, this album is their most musically dynamic album to date.

Now for the actual music:

It all begins with, what also could be a scene from an old pirat movie, an intro that is called ‘The Ancient Mariner’. This is just the intro for the firstreal song ‘This Ship Is Going Down’, a beautiful uptempo rocksong with a lot of tempo changes. But also changes in melodywhich you don’t expect.

As a matter of fact, this sums up the whole album if you ask me. One moment heavy rock, then interspersed with fragile moments which get under your skin. Bombastic rock with a dash of sensitivity.

At some moments we also hear a hint of hard/metalcore, for example at the end of the song ‘Sirens’.

‘Desolate Isle’ is a more mellow song that entertains you for 6:53 minutes. The originality is of a high level that I have heard seldom before.

The voice of Seth Davey is also very impressive, it never gets boring. It most certainly is no ‘thirteen in a dozen’ voice.

‘Man, O Shipwreck’ is a more classical song, it is a ballad played almost whole at the piano with some sound effects underneath it all. ‘Step Out’ is also a calm song which builds up slowly to return to the rock sound that we expect.

The song ‘Albatross’ starts with a bit of shouting/screaming, one of the few moments at the record. But this song has also some very interesting guitar parts. Sometimes evan a bit Jazzy.

At this time I realise that I can’t give a song by song description of this, sixteen song!!, album. We have only reached song number 8 of the album ‘The Breath Before The Plunge’. Here we also hear some New Wave and Jazz elements.

But I feel obligated to mention at least the title song ‘Into The Sea’. It begins ballad-like and it builds up at the half of the song to a more uptempo rocksong with a very catchy chorus. Guitar and piano blend together nicely.

‘O the Depths’ starts a bit monotone but then the guitar parts come in as a surprise and make you wonder where the end of their creativity lies?

The masterpiece that is called ‘Safe’ is primarily instrumental with spoken word.

Again I a malmost tempted to write something about every song, but I will be strong and keep myself under control.

As far as I’m concerned, this is one of the best Rock albums I have ever heard. If an Indie-Rock band is capable of entertaining a metalcore dude like me then you know you have struck gold!

While I was writing this review, I was on vacation in the high Mountains of Switserland with my family. Here I wrote the following:

“When I look around me to the scenery I suddenly realise that this album can be compared to the beautiful nature that surrounds me. I see the majestic mountains with their rocky peaks covered with snow and waterfalls. A little lower we have peaceful mountain meadows with calm streams of water and an abundance of flowers and wildlife. And at the bottom of the valley where all the waters come together there is a wild River. All these elements together make me stand in awe of our mighty Creator. The same goes for this album; all the different elements of music together make this just an awesome record.

Rating: 9/10

Written by: René Woning

1. The Ancient Mariner
2. This Ship Is Going Down
3. Sirens
4. Desolate Isle
5. Man, O Shipwreck
6. Step Out
7. Albatross
8. The Breath Before The Plunge
9. Into The Sea
10. Coming Clean
11. O The Depths
12. Voices From The Shore
13. Safe
14. The Greater Tide
15. Death Be Not Proud
16. Message In A Bottle

Band members:
Seth Davey – Keys/Vocals
Evan King – Guitar/BV
Chris Sierra – Drums/BV
Joseph Couillard – Guitar

“The Greater Tide” EP (2010)
“Post Tenebras Lux” (2011)
“Gospel Hymns, Vol. 1” (2013)
“Into The Sea” (2015)

Record label: Facedown Records, June 2015

Weblinks: Facebook / Website / Twitter

Buy the album here:
Holland: First Paradox
Norway: Nordic Mission

Video below: ‘Sirens’

Video below: ‘O The Depths’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Posts