Sep 062017

Victory Records and four of their bands from Texas are coming together to release a special limited edition shirt with all proceeds being donated to the Hurricane Harvey Relief Fund.

Check out where you can get the shirt below.

Reverend Horton Heat, Shattered Sun, Darkness Divided and Seeker all call Texas home and are coming together to release an amazing limited edition shirt that features all four bands on the back, along with the phrase “Texas Strong” on the front.

This special shirt will only be available for the next week, along with all proceeds being donated to the Hurricane Harvey Relief Fund. You can check out what the shirt looks like below!

Continue reading »

Conveyer – “No Future”

 Posted by on August 27, 2017 at 22:13  No Responses »
Aug 272017

In 2011 a bunch of dudes from Eau Claire, Wisconsin came together to form what was to be known as “Conveyer”. Since its formation the band released 3 EPs “Signal Fire”, “Empty Handed” & “MMXII” before releasing their first full length album Worn Out which was self-released in 2013. Following its release the band went through a lot of line-up changes and signed up with Victory Record to release their first studio album “When Given Time To Grow” in 2015. The band toured alongside Ghost Key, Until we are ghosts, Dwell and a couple of other bands in 2013.

“Conveyer” came out with their second studio Album “No Future” in June 2017 via Victory records. Listening to Hardcore really stirs me up and gives me adrenaline in the best possible way :). This bands exhibits raw unabated energy throughout the length of the album. They are quite traditional when it comes to song writing, and claims never to have used a computer to do so. Impressive eh? Brooks mentions that Song writing is an important aspect for the band and every band member is encouraged to throw in ideas.

So I queued in the album, which opens softly with “Dust” and gathers momentum with rugged guitar chops and marching/blast beats. The sound on this song sets the flavour for the rest of the album. Next up “The Whetstone” treads on dark territory with “a blade through my stubborn soul” setting up a hardcore back drop with an ambient elements on the fore front. Continue reading »

Aug 242017

For The Win is streaming their highly anticipated second album, “Heavy Thoughts,” one day ahead of its official release. An ideal mix of ten emotionally heavy tracks, Kyle Christensen (vocals) confesses, “We poured our hearts into these songs, and we feel like this record offers something for everyone. “Heavy Thoughts” is a record that we are extremely proud of. It’s been a crazy ride with this album release, and we’re excited to finally have it out to the world through Victory.”

Upon announcing their signing to Victory Records in May of 2017, For The Win unveiled videos for the tracks ‘Crash And Burn’ and ‘Dancing Shoes,’ followed by ‘All Or Nothing,’ and earlier this week releasing ‘Us Versus Them.’

The band will celebrate with a pair of album release shows this weekend, with a North American fall tour to be announced shortly. Continue reading »

Aug 132017

Shattered Sun return with their sophomore effort, bringing more metalcore to the masses while avoiding the clichés of the genre…

The south Texas band Shattered Sun trace their origin back to 2005 and since then have managed to share the stage with the likes of legends like Testament and Exodus, supporting them on the Dark Roots of Thrash Tour and in summer of this year (2017) joined the Warped Tour for part of that run. Interestingly, even with the success and acclaim from their first album, Hope Within Hatred (2015), the band nearly self-destructed before recording The Evolution of Anger.  In late 2015, guitarist Daniel Trejo decided to leave the band and other issues that came to the surface put the second album in question.  In the end, Daniel came back and the band realized that chances like they were given were few and far between.  The band worked with producer Mark Lewis (Devil Drive, Fallujah) in their hometown to narrow down the 26 songs to the 10 that made it onto The Evolution of Anger, and artist Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Machine Head) was brought in for the album art depicting how anger can drive one into a maze that does nowhere, capturing the essence of the album and a bit of the band’s own struggles. Continue reading »

Broadside – “Paradise”

 Posted by on July 4, 2017 at 22:54  No Responses »
Jul 042017

In perfect timing for summer, Broadside have released their second full length, Paradise, an album filled with the Southern California-tinged pop punk fitting for the season.

Originally hailing from Richmond, Virginia, Broadside has relocated to Los Angeles and seems to have taken the environment to heart.  For Paradise, the band teamed up again with producer Kyle Black (New Found Glory, All Time Low), and has spent the last couple years since their debut, Old Bones (2015), relentlessly touring and gathering accolades.  From being named “Musician of the Month” in April 2017 by Alternative Press to being named “Best International Newcomer” by Rock Sound, to having Paradise being named as “One of 2017’s Most Anticipated albums” by AP and gathering fans at Warped Tour in 2016, the band has certainly demonstrated the appeal of their sound to audiences and critics alike.   The band traces their roots back to 2010 and released a 5 song ep in 2011 that was re-recorded and expanded in 2012 for an independent release before they recruited current lead vocalist Ollie Baxxter in 2013.  Add in some touring and then signing to Victory Records and the band released their debut album Old Bones in 2015 which was followed up by the aforementioned Warped Tour and acclaim. Continue reading »