Mar 232018

The US power metal band Millennial Reign will release their new album “The Great Divide” on May 25th in Europe and North America through Ulterium Records. The album will be available on CD, LP and digital. The LP edition is strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide.

The album features new members Travis Wills [vocals], Steve Nichols [drums] and Neil Bertrand [bass] together with founding member Dave Harvey [guitars].“The Great Divide” is the follow-up to “Carry The Fire”, the label debut for the Swedish label Ulterium Records. Since the release of “Carry The Fire” the band toured with Stryper on their “To Hell With The Devil 30th anniversary tour” as well as supported bands like Sonata Arctica, Leaves’ Eyes, Theocracy, Omnium Gatherum, Hammerfall and Joe Lynn Turner. Continue reading »

Oct 112017

Within Silence return with their sophomore album Return from the Shadows, an effort that will not disappoint fans of their debut Gallery of Life and is sure to bring in new fans to their ranks.

Without looking it up, my first thought was that Within Silence was likely a Swedish band given the strength of the performances and overall style but after looking around, it appears they are actually from Kosice, Slovakia.  Their first album in 2015 was released on Ulterium records and Gallery of Life was strong enough to get them slots in festivals across Europe and as support for Theocracy. For Return from the Shadows, the band had used some well known talent to the power metal scene with Roland Grapow (Masterplan, Helloween) for mixing and mastering and artwork from Jan Yrlund (Delain, Apocalyptica, Korpiklaani).

Sometimes the opening song can not only make or break an album but also allows the listener to know whether or not the rest of the album will be worthy of a listen.  Such is the case with Return from the Shadows.  “We are the Ones” just explodes into a driving rhythm with some good layered guitar over the top and quickly gets into the verse section showcasing Martin Klein’s smooth, somewhat dark vocals.  Fast, European power metal with a driving low end, cool riffs and vocals that alternate from quieter to soaring, channeling aspects of Bruce Dickinson at times.  Add in some guitar solos that fit well within the structure of the song and the album is off to a great start.  At this point, it is very clear this album was very well done both in production and performances and songwriting…and that’s after the first song. Continue reading »

Aug 232017

The melodic metal band Within Silence will release their new album “Return From The Shadows” on October 27th in Europe and North America through Ulterium Records.

“Return From The Shadows” is a perfect follow-up to the debut album “Gallery of Life” and feels like a more mature and focused album. The impressive song-writing and melodies are still there, and together with heavy riffs, symphonic arrangements and epic parts the result is a really strong album!

The album was mixed and mastered by Roland Grapow [Masterplan, ex. Helloween] and the artwork was created by Jan Yrlund [Delain, Apocalyptica, Korpiklaani]. “Return From The Shadows” is a perfect album for fans of bands like Theocracy, Sonata Arctica and Stratovarius! Continue reading »

May 082017

The Athens, Georgia-based melodic metal band Theocracy and their label Ulterium Records just announced the “Ghost Ship” YouTube contest.

Record a video of yourself when playing or singing the Theocracy track “Ghost Ship” and upload it to YouTube. Send a link to the video to to be included in the contest.

The contest will be open until June 20th, and then Theocracy and Ulterium Records will decide two winners: the best performance as well as the most creative submission. Below you can see the prizes for the winners: Continue reading »

Apr 262017

Ulterium Records are proud to announce the release of a limited red transparent vinyl 2LP edition of the classic Theocracy album “As The World Bleeds”. The edition is strictly limited to 500 copies worldwide and the release date is set to June 30th.

“As The World Bleeds” has been released in Europe on November 25th 2011 through Ulterium Records and in North America on November 21st 2011 through Nightmare Records. Continue reading »