Aug 122017

The official lyric video for ‘When Colors Fade Away”, the title track of the new album from Blackfinger, the band led by former Trouble singer Eric Wagner, can be seen below. The clip was created by Rafael Ortega (Ayreon, Helsott, Subteranean Masquerade).

“After I finished the first Blackfinger record and actually sat back and listened to it, it dawned upon me that ‘when colors fade away’ would be a great title and concept for the next one… of course, I didn’t know there would be one, but I always hope,” explains Eric. “A common thread throughout that album was the different feelings of what colors meant to me. I wondered what would happen if all the colors were gone? What would life be like without colors? I also wanted to clear up some of the misconceptions of what we are taught throughout our lives, most of which seems unrealistic to me and only serves to better the collection plate.

“When I first saw the lyric video for ‘When Colors Fade Away’, I was totally fuckin’ blown away. I was not expecting it… it was perfect… like the dude read my mind. It is in my opinion thee best lyric video I have ever seen… I love it.”

“When Colors Fade Away” will be released on September 15 via M-Theory Audio. Continue reading »

Mar 072015

theskullthosecd The Skull could be said to be resurrected from the wind-blown ravages of Trouble. So here is a quick recap of Trouble’s career through traditional doom. Their best known Metal Blade releases are ‘Trouble’ {later renamed as ‘Psalm 9’} (1984), ‘The Skull’ (1985), with a less enthusiastic response to ‘Run to the Light’ (1987). They moved onto stoner metal for ‘Trouble’ (1990), ‘Manic Frustration’ (1992), ‘Plastic Green Head’ (1995) and ‘Simple Mind Condition’ (2007).

Eric Wagner’s lyrics on ‘Psalm 9’ were notable for the biblical overtones, because they were unusual in mainstream metal of the eighties. The Skull’s debut album features original Trouble vocalist Eric Wagner alongside former Trouble bassist Ron Holzner and former Trouble drummer Jeff “Oly” Olson with guitarist Lothar Keller (Sacred Dawn) and Matt Goldsborough (Pentagram). The band’s main aim is to bring back the American Doom Metal band sound of Trouble combined with new material. Their debut album ‘For Those Which Are Asleep’ was released in November 2014 via Tee Pee Records.

Continue reading »

Jan 182015

Jeff-Oly-OlsonOriginal Trouble drummer Jeff “Oly” Olson has decided to leave The Skull, the band he formed with fellow original Trouble member Eric Wagner (vocals) and longtime Trouble bassist Ron Holzner. “There is no animosity in the band and it was a friendly departure,” reads a statement from Olson‘s wife and publicist, Leigh Olson.

Jeff tweeted last Friday (January 16): “I loved jamming with @TroubleTheSkull, but it’s time to depart and wish the band all the best! Looking forward to my next chapter…”

The Skull released its debut album, “For Those Which Are Asleep”, on November 4, 2014 via Tee Pee Records. Continue reading »

Dec 042014

theskullband2014new_638Fan-filmed video footage of The Skull — the new band featuring two original members of American doom metal legends Trouble, Eric Wagner (vocals) and Jeff “Oly” Olson (drums), alongside longtime Trouble bassist Ron Holzner, guitarist Lothar Keller (Sacred Dawn) and former Pentaram guitarist Matt Goldsborough — performing on October 10 at the Day Of Doom festival in Barcelona, Spain can be seen below.

The Skull released its debut album, “For Those Which Are Asleep”, on November 4 via Tee Pee Records.

The last tour dates for this year are listed below. Maybe they play somewhere in your area, if so … go see them live.

Continue reading »

Dec 032014

Trouble_logo‘Paranoia Conspiracy’ is taken from Trouble‘s first studio album in six years, “The Distortion Field”, which sold around 760 copies in the United States in its first week of release. The CD landed at position No. 25 on the Top New Artist Albums (Heatseekers) chart, which lists the best-selling albums by new and developing artists, defined as those who have never appeared in the Top 100 of The Billboard 200.

“The Distortion Field”, was released in Europe on August 23th. 2013 via FRW Records, the 12-song follow-up to 2007′s “Simple Mind Condition” was helmed by veteran producer  Bill Metoyer [Slayer, W.A.S.P., Armored Saint, Dark Angel, Sacred Reich] and marks the recording debut with Trouble of lead singer Kyle Thomas following the departure of the group’s frontman of four years, Kory Clarke [of Warrior Soul fame). Continue reading »