Jun 042018

The Skull, the band featuring vocalist Eric Wagner and bassist Ron Holzner, formerly of metal legends Trouble, will release its sophomore album, “The Endless Road Turns Dark”, on September 7 via Tee Pee Records. The LP was recorded in Chicago’s Decade Music Studios with engineer Sanford Parker (YobTombs) and builds on the foundation laid by The Skull‘s debut album, “For Those Which Are Asleep”, a recording that landed at or near the top of a host of 2014 year-end best of lists.

The lyric video for “The Endless Road Turns Dark” title track can be seen below. Continue reading »

Mar 072015

theskullthosecd The Skull could be said to be resurrected from the wind-blown ravages of Trouble. So here is a quick recap of Trouble’s career through traditional doom. Their best known Metal Blade releases are ‘Trouble’ {later renamed as ‘Psalm 9’} (1984), ‘The Skull’ (1985), with a less enthusiastic response to ‘Run to the Light’ (1987). They moved onto stoner metal for ‘Trouble’ (1990), ‘Manic Frustration’ (1992), ‘Plastic Green Head’ (1995) and ‘Simple Mind Condition’ (2007).

Eric Wagner’s lyrics on ‘Psalm 9’ were notable for the biblical overtones, because they were unusual in mainstream metal of the eighties. The Skull’s debut album features original Trouble vocalist Eric Wagner alongside former Trouble bassist Ron Holzner and former Trouble drummer Jeff “Oly” Olson with guitarist Lothar Keller (Sacred Dawn) and Matt Goldsborough (Pentagram). The band’s main aim is to bring back the American Doom Metal band sound of Trouble combined with new material. Their debut album ‘For Those Which Are Asleep’ was released in November 2014 via Tee Pee Records.

Continue reading »

Aug 272014

theskullband2014new_638The Skull — the new band featuring two original members of American doom metal legends Trouble, Eric Wagner (vocals) and Jeff “Oly” Olson (drums), alongside longtime Trouble bassist Ron Holzner, guitarist Lothar Keller (Sacred Dawn) and former Pentaram guitarist Matt Goldsborough — will release its debut album, “For Those Which Are Asleep”, on November 4 via Tee Pee Records.

Written and recorded this past spring, “For Those Which Are Asleep” is the first full-length album to feature Wagner, Holzner and Olson since the 1995 release of Trouble‘s critically acclaimed LP “Plastic Green Head”. The new record’s greatest strength is how well it captures the apocalyptic trudge that Trouble delivered from the first downbeat of their 1984 debut, but now unequivocally propelled by the hallmarks of a hungry new band fueled by new blood. The mighty voice of Wagner is on full display; the vocalist proving on “For Those Which Are Asleep” that he still wields an eerie power at the mic. Titanic riffs abound as Keller and Goldsborough weave ominous atmospheres over the molten, crushing core of Holzner and Olson‘s sinister strut. Continue reading »

Mar 282014

theskullband2014_638The Skull, the new band featuring original members of American doom metal legends TroubleEric Wagner [vocals] and Jeff “Oly” Olson [drums] — alongside longtime Trouble bassist Ron Holzner, Sacred Dawn guitarist Lothar Keller, and former Trouble bassist-turned-guitarist Chuck Robinson, will unleash two new singles recorded with acclaimed producer/engineer Billy Anderson [Melvins, Neurosis]. The “limited-edition” white vinyl replica CD featuring ‘Sometime Yesterday Mourning’ [side A] and ‘The Last Judgment’[side B] will be made available on Tuesday, April 8 via Tee Pee Records.

‘Sometime Yesterday Mourning’ and The Last Judgment’ will premiere exclusively on Olson‘s podcast “Heady Metal With Jeff Olson” via InThePitRadio.com on Friday, April 4 from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. EST. Olson will be live on air and field reporting from The Skull‘s listening party that evening at the Ragnarokk Metal Apocalypse Fest at Reggies Rock Club in in Chicago, where fans can purchase the CD. Olson, along with Wagner, Holzner, Robinson and Keller, will all be available to personally sign the limited-edition white vinyl replica CD. Continue reading »