Monotheist – “Scourge”

 Posted by on June 19, 2018 at 20:12  No Responses »
Jun 192018

Monotheist return with some new members and bring an onslaught of technical, progressive death metal filled with incredible guitar work, pounding rhythms and drums, and elements of jazz and classical music that has long been a part of their sound.

Florida has produced a number of death metal bands over the years, from Obituary to Six Feet Under to Morbid Angel among others, so Monotheist coming from Orlando isn’t too far out of the ordinary.  Formed in 2004, Michael “Prophet” Moore gathered a set of musicians to drive his progressive death metal vision and formed a band that released Unforsaken in 2007 (remastered/re-released in 2012), a record that looked to combine many of their influences from Extol to Death, to Suffocation and Opeth.  The follow up album didn’t come out until 2013 and was an ep, Garden of Perdition, that featured shorter songs and vocals from JJ “Shiv” Polachek (ex-7 Horns 7 Eyes) with Cooper bates joining on drums.  Now 5 yrs later the band is releasing their second full length, Scourge.  Joining the band for this album are Jose Figueroa on bass and Tyler McDaniel (ex-Gigan) on guitar and vocals.  The album was mixed and mastered by Aaron Smith at Envisage Audio and features guest appearances by Christian Alvestam (Scar Symmetry, Miseration) and Bobby Koelble (ex-Death). Continue reading »

Feb 022018

Monotheist are proud to announce that they have signed with Prosthetic Records! They will be releasing the upcoming album “Scourge” on March 16. The track appears on Monotheist’s sophomore album, “Scourge,” which was mixed and mastered by Shiv’s 7 Horns 7 Eyes bandmate, Aaron Smith. In addition to Älvestam, the album also features a guest appearance from Bobby Koelble (ex-Death, Death to All). The album comes out March 16 on Prosthetic Records via all digital outlets, compact disc, and limited edition blue with orange and yellow swirl wax.

Vocalist JJ “Shiv” Polachek (7 Horns 7 Eyes) told MetalSucks:

“Monotheist is made up of multiple people with different worldviews. Though it started as a very Christian band, it no longer could be accurately labeled that way. [Monotheist guitarist] Prophet very much still retains his faith, but he set me to write a song reflecting my own views, and ‘The Grey King’ is the result. Continue reading »

Aug 112013

Monotheist_genesisThe first thing people tend to notice about Monotheist is that vocals are done by JJ “Shiv” Polachek who is arguably better known for his vocals in 7 Horns 7 Eyes, so I want to get that out of the way from the start as while that may raise some interest, it doesn’t do this band justice. Hailing from Orlando Florida, Monotheist describe their sound as a “progressive extreme metal” and that would be a fair description, but there is so much going on with their sound that it really begs for a more detailed explanation. There are a lot of technical elements here, black metal elements, and perhaps even some symphonic moments with strings and piano.

In true progressive and possibly symphonic form, the ep starts out with a nice, soothing string piece “Genesis of Perdition” before launching into some heavy, chugging riffing in “Subzero” complete with the deep, growling death vocals of Shiv. What struck me immediately in this song is the technical nature of the guitar work. Continue reading »

Apr 192013

Monotheist-bandpicMonotheist from Florida will release a new 6 song EP on May 21, entitled “Genesis of Perdition”. Pre-Orders are available now at metalhelm. Artwork and tracklist can be viewed below, also below a taste of the new EP, listen to “Elegy of the Sleepwalkers.”

Monotheist started as the solo project of Mike J. Moore [Prophet] in late 2005. Monotheist turned into a band when vocalist Jake Rice and bassist Elyssa Coultas joined and helped record the band’s first album “Unforsaken” in mid-2007. Listeners were able to hear an eclectic mix of influences by bands like Extol, Opeth, Suffocation and Cynic. Classical, jazz and folk influences also permeated the sound that Monotheist had created on their first outing. After playing only a handful of shows in 2008 [with a lineup featuring JJ “Shiv” Polachek on vocals, Anthony Wert on guitar, and Eirek Eichel on drums] the band seemed to have been abruptly frozen in its tracks. For almost 5 years, no real activity would be seen from the band.  Continue reading »

Mar 272013

monotheistMonotheist from Florida have posted a new song Elegy of the Sleepwalkers. The song is taken from their forth-coming 6 track EP Genesis of Perdition, it will be self-released on May 21The song can be streamed below.

The band commented: “It is the culmination of four years of work and serves as a segue to our next full length down the road. Fans of the band may have heard demo versions of some of the songs floating around on the net for years and now they will be available in their official studio versions. Continue reading »