Mar 032019

Stryper frontman Michael Sweet has set “Ten” as the title of his next solo album, due later in the year via Rat Pak Records.

In a brand new interview with Daily BoomSweet stated about the upcoming follow-up to 2016’s “One Sided War”: “It’s really great. I always go into a project with expectations and sometimes I meet or surpass them, but sometimes I don’t. Sometimes a song might be a little bit of a letdown and not what I had hoped for, but with this album so far, everything is as I’ve expected and then some. Now granted, I don’t have the lead vocals done yet, so the pressure is on me. [Laughs] I hope the lead vocals turn out how I hear them in my head and how I would like them to be, but you never know. You just don’t know until you get in there and you start singing and you get it done.”

He continued: “So far though, the songs all have incredible energy. I’ve got Will Hunt playing drums on it and John O’Boyle is playing bass. The rhythm section is phenomenal and the guitar tones are great. I’m going to have a different guest guitar player on every song, with a solo, of course. I’ve got Todd La Torre of Queensrÿche joining me on a song and it’s just turning out to be a really cool album. I think that it’s going to surpass my last solo album and that did really well, but I think this one is going to be even better.” Continue reading »

Jan 282019

Stryper frontman Michael Sweet has commenced recording his next solo album. The follow-up to 2016’s “One Sided War” will arrive this summer via Rat Pak Records.

Among the guest musicians who will appear on Sweet‘s new disc are Queensryche singer Todd La Torre, guitarists Joel Hoekstra (Whitesnake, Night Ranger), Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy, Nevermore), Marzi Montazeri (ExhorderPhilip H. Alsemo & The Illegals), Gus G. (Firewind, Ozzy Osbourne) and Andy James; and drummer Will Hunt (Evanescence).

Sweet previously stated about his new solo album: “There are old-school, straight-ahead metal ideas à la [JudasPriest and Dio, as well as a few uptempo riffs à la [IronMaiden. There’s also a few ballads with a bit of a [Led] Zeppelin vibe.

“I’m really excited about the musical direction. I’m bringing back a few of those classic hooks and melodies that some of you have asked for. Ask and you shall receive.” Continue reading »

Dec 022018

Stryper frontman Michael Sweet has confirmed that he is working on material for his next solo album. The follow-up to 2016’s “One Sided War” will arrive in 2019 via Rat Pak Records.

Sweet wrote on his Facebook page:

Writing songs has always been part of my DNA. Once I get into that mode the flood gates open. I spent the past few days working on some ideas and so far I have 11 that I like. Now I need to weed through them and arrange them and program drum grooves to make em’ feel right. Joel Hoekstra and I are co-writing 2 songs together so I’m waiting to hear what he comes up with and that will make 13 tracks total (12 for US, one bonus track for overseas). Continue reading »

Dec 302017

Jimmy Kay and Alan Dixon from Canada’s The Metal Voice spoke with Stryper front man Michael Sweet. Sweet spoke about the New Stryper album, a new song that will feature Death Metal growls, new bassist Perry Richardson‘s faith and the shooting of the upcoming Stryper Documentary. Listen to the chat in the video below.

Stryper will return to SpiritHouse Recording Studios in Northampton, Massachusetts on January 10 to begin mixing its new album for a tentative April release via Frontiers Music Srl. The follow-up to 2015’s “Fallen”, which will be mastered on January 15, will mark Stryper‘s first effort since the addition of former Firehouse bassist Perry RichardsonPerry joined the band as the replacement for Stryper‘s longtime bassist Tim Gaines, who was fired from the group earlier this year.

In a new post on Stryper‘s Facebook page, guitarist/vocalist Michael Sweet writes: “Some people like heavy, some people like semi-heavy, some people like not so heavy. We’ve done it all over the years — really heavy to really light. Continue reading »

Dec 012017

Stryper frontman Michael Sweet will release his first ever solo DVD, “Sole: Songs And Stories From A Life In Music” on December 12th. Check out the trailer below and pre-order your copy now.

Playing time 102 Minutes – Featuring:

* A Solo Acoustic Performace from his 2017 Tour! (See Track List Below)
* A Brand New Interview!
* Never Before Seen Archive Footage!

Sweet‘s seventh solo album, “One Sided War”, was released in August 2016 via Rat Pak Records. Backing Michael on the record were Whitesnake guitarist Joel HoekstraEvanescence drummer Will Hunt, bassist John O’Boyle and East Coast shred-master Ethan Brosh. Continue reading »