Living in Victory – “Freeman” (ep)

 Posted by on January 20, 2019 at 23:22  No Responses »
Jan 202019

Living in Victory (formerly LIV) are back after an extended break with  four tracks of raucous old-school hardcore like you don’t get hear very often anymore.

Back in 2014 LIV released the full length Be the Change and with the quality old-school , youth crew-like hardcore on that album looked to be making their mark.  I’ve wondered since then when we would hear from them again and the answer was the 2018 Freeman (ep).  As a band, Living in Victory started out more simply as LIV back in late 2012 in South Bay Los Angeles.  Brought together by a love of hardcore from bands like 7 Seconds, Gorilla Biscuits, the band wrote songs full of emotion and heart that were sure to inspire endless singalongs , pileons, and just random chaos at undoubtedly sweaty shows.   Be the change was full of songs that would stand alongside those of their influences and were good enough and with enough broad appeal that it would make LIV an good partner on a bill or tour.  Moving forward to Freeman, the band has solidified their sound and made it a bit fuller with the addition of two guitarists (Jeremy Tudo and Chrisoper Pigao) replacing Ace Esguerra.  As with Be the Change, production is spot on with vocals and instruments clearly heard in the mix which has a bit of a rougher edge or tone to it. Continue reading »

Jun 222018

Living In Victory releases its “Freeman” EP, a passionate and raucous four song eruption of old school punk and hardcore, over catchy grooves and searing guitar hooks. Building on the momentum from their acclaimed “Be The Change” full length debut, Los Angeles based Living In Victory (formerly known as LIV.) continues to address social issues of today’s youth, and life as an outsiders united through the hardcore scene. Hard-charging, emotional and urgent, Freeman stomps through traditional musical barriers to deliver a listener experience that earns constant replays.

Living In Victory features vocals from Matthew Salamante, Jason Diaz on bass, two new guitar players Jeremy Tudon and Christopher Pigao, and the indomitable Tony Esquivel on drums. Continue reading »