Your Chance to Die – “Ex Nihilo”

 Posted by on April 14, 2017 at 23:51  No Responses »
Apr 142017

Your Chance to Die is back with a retooled lineup and a new label, and have taken their “face melting” melodic, technical death metal sound to a new level with Ex Nihilo.

Your Chance to Die was formed nearly 10 years ago now, back in 2007 by current band members Missi and Coca Avila.  As often happens over time, lineups change, people come and go and the current lineup has likely the biggest change any band could have in the addition of a second vocalist.  Joining Missi on vocals now is Som Pluijmers (ex-Cerebral Bore) who, until now, had not recorded with the band but had toured with them, even becoming the lone vocalist for some shows when Missi couldn’t tour.  Ron Dalton on guitars and Thomas White on drums are the other newcomers for Ex Nihilo.  Looking back, one can find evidence of more than two previous full-length albums, but we’ll defer to the band’s official bio that lists Suscitacio Somnus (2011) and The American Dream (2013) as their previous albums, both of which were met with critical acclaim for the intensity behind the music as well as the complex arrangements and outstanding musicianship.  From the start on vocals, Missi, has initially attracted attention for being a female in the genre, but after hearing their releases and seeing them live, the skeptical are quickly won over as she is simply great in the role.  For me seeing them in their early days at Cornerstone Festival, the fact that she was sporting an Antestor shirt put my mind a bit at ease before they even took the stage.  For Ex Nihilo, the band began talking with Dave Ellefson (Megadeth) and Thom Hazaert and signed to EMP Underground the extreme metal imprint for the EMP Label Group and again employed Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me) for recording and used Zack Ohren (Machine Head) for mixing. Continue reading »

Mar 292017

Your Chance To Die, who re-emerged into the death metal world with their 2013 Red Cord Records sophomore effort, “The American Dream,” are to release their third album, “Ex Nihilo” on April 21st via EMP Label Group’s extreme metal imprint EMP Underground. Recorded by Jamie King (Between The Buried And Me), mixed by Zack Ohren (Machine Head), and with album art by French digital artist / illustrator and graphic designer Pierre-Alain D., “Ex Nihilo” shows the band completely reinvented with deep symphonic atmospheres, inhuman precision and brutality, and a dual-female vocal onslaught.

2015/16 saw the addition of Som Pluijmers (ex-Cerebral Bore) on vocals, making her debut on “Ex Nihilo,” alongside revered death metal vocalist Missi Avila. The dual-female front offers a tandem dose of sheer vocal brutality backed up by the soaring leads and rhythmic precision of Coca Avila and Ron Dalton on guitars. This package is rounded out by the inhuman speed and accuracy of drummer Thomas White. Continue reading »

Sep 072016

14195313_279818609071308_5933930772337977466_o_e30EMP: Underground are proud to announce the addition of dual female fronted melodic Death Metal powerhouse Your Chance To Die (Featuring Som Pluijmers formerly of Cerebral Bore) to the EMP: Underground | EMP Label Group roster! Look for their EMP debut “Ex-Nihilo” Produced by Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me) Winter 2016! These guys (and gals) are absolutely BRUTAL, and we are stoked to welcome them to the family!

Your Chance To Die [YCTD] was formed in 2007 by original members Coca and Missi Avila. Over the last 8 years, the band has morphed into the current lineup of powerhouse musicians Chase Crouch and Coca Avila(guitar), Thomas White(drums), Stephen Sanchez (bass), and Missi Avila and Som Pluijmers (vocals). The band which began as a 4 piece metalcore act has now progressed into a melodic death metal machine, featuring powerful vocals by Missi and Som (ex-vocalist for Cerebral Bore).
Continue reading »

Mar 252016

ImmovableEMP Label Group, the label founded by Megadeth’s David Ellefson , has announced the formation of EMP Underground, an imprint which will release and distribute music from more “underground, extreme and subversive artists.” Says Operations manager and EMP Underground co-founder Thöm Hazaërt. “A lot of the stuff we have been signing to EMP has been more Hard Rock and mainstream metal, and we wanted to create an outlet for signing some of the amazing heavier/weirder/more extreme artists that have been coming to us, without all the pressure of the big releases on EMP. And that’s exactly what we’ve created with EMP Underground.”

He adds, “We have found some great releases, and we get so many amazing submissions from the heavier end of the spectrum, and David and I talked and we really wanted to create an outlet for some of this other stuff that didn’t necessarily fit on EMP proper.” Continue reading »