Aug 032014

TT Avalon II Angels Following Timo Tolkki’s exit from Stratovarius, he got a call from Frontiers Records President, Serafino Perugino. Following that, he started his new project from an original concept discussed years ago between him and Perugino. This was to be a symphonic metal and rock opera with a variety of guest vocalists. More importantly to Timo, he was to regain full control of his own music and performances.

The band name was taken from the film “The Mists of Avalon”, which tells the story of King Arthur. The film describes Avalon as a place likened to heaven that normal mortals cannot see and is divided by mist. The first album in the power metal concept album trilogy was ‘The Land Of New Hope’ (2013).

The second release is ‘Angels Of The Apocalypse’ and features Elize Ryd and a superb range of guest vocalists. It also reunites the legendary Stratovarius “Dreamspace” line-up of Antti Ikonen and Tuomo Lassila. The amazing vocal cast includes Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Simone Simons (Epica), Fabio Lione (Rhapsody Of Fire), David DeFeis (Virgin Steele), Zachary Stevens (Savatage, Circle II Circle), Elize Ryd (Amaranthe) and the new Chilean singer Caterina Nix (her debut album is also produced by Tolkki).

Continue reading »